RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The boys' basketball team of James Madison High 2 School in Dallas reached the pinnacle of success by capturing the 3 University Interscholastic League 3A state championship on March 9, 4 2013, with a win in the title game at the Frank Erwin Center in 5 Austin; and

6 WHEREAS, Matching up against Houston Yates High School with 7 the championship on the line, the Trojan players demonstrated great 8 composure and perseverance; the team led by only two points at 9 halftime, and the third quarter featured two lead changes and five 10 ties, but Madison went on an impressive run in the final minutes of 11 the game to secure an 85-72 victory and the state crown; and

12 WHEREAS, The championship triumph closed out an 18-game 13 winning streak for the Trojans, who finished with an overall record 14 of 32 wins and just 4 defeats; and

WHEREAS, Senior guard Derrick Smith was named the title game 15 Most Valuable Player after scoring 27 points and hauling down 14 16 rebounds, while Admon Gilder, a sophomore guard, added 19 points 17 and joined Mr. Smith as an All-Tournament honoree; excelling with a 18 effort, the also received significant 19 true team Trojans 20 contributions throughout the season from the other members of the 21 roster: Robert Pearson, Brandon Stanton, Jamon Brewer, J. D. Wallace, Cameron Bryant, Devonte Robinson, Kwame Thomas, Latarius 22 23 Spearman, Demarcus West, Johnathon Turner, Devante Wheatley, Lebraun Armstrong, and Eric Robinson; and 24

1

1 WHEREAS, These dedicated athletes were ably guided by head 2 coach Damien Mobley and assistant coaches Tracy Flentroy and 3 Roderick Johnson, with additional support from team manager Sheldon 4 Williams; and

5 WHEREAS, A state title can only be achieved through a 6 combination of talent and hard work, and all those involved in 7 Madison High School's championship effort may take justifiable 8 pride in a job well done; now, therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 10 Legislature hereby congratulate the Madison High School boys' 11 basketball team on winning the UIL 3A state championship and extend 12 to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for 13 continued success; and, be it further

14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 15 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 16 House of Representatives.

Johnson

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1190 was adopted by the House on April 11, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House