H.R. No. 1215

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Representatives from the Invest in Texas campaign
- 2 are gathering at the State Capitol on April 2, 2013, in connection
- 3 with their legislative day; and
- WHEREAS, Formed in 2011, the Invest in Texas campaign is a
- 5 student-led effort designed to advocate for higher education; those
- 6 collaborating on the initiative are the three Legislative Student
- 7 Organizations at The University of Texas at Austin--Student
- 8 Government, the Senate of College Councils, and the Graduate
- 9 Student Assembly--and more than 30 other partnering organizations;
- 10 open to both undergraduate and graduate students, the campaign
- 11 welcomes individuals of any party affiliation; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Members of the Invest in Texas campaign draft a
- 13 platform for each legislative session; since its inception, the
- 14 campaign has focused on maintaining adequate state funding for
- 15 UT-Austin, protecting financial aid programs, keeping the campus
- 16 safe, and supporting competitiveness in such areas as faculty and
- 17 staff insurance benefits; and
- WHEREAS, Throughout the session, campaign representatives
- 19 meet with legislators and testify at house and senate committee
- 20 hearings; in 2013, the group organized the inaugural Flagship
- 21 Legislative Day with Texas A&M University, the University of
- 22 Houston, Texas Tech University, and Texas State University in order
- 23 to underscore the importance of higher education; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The participants in the Invest in Texas campaign

H.R. No. 1215

- 1 have demonstrated an impressive commitment to excellence in higher
- 2 education, and their contributions indeed merit special
- 3 recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize April 2, 2013, as Invest in Texas Day
- 6 at the State Capitol and extend to those involved in the campaign
- 7 sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and productive event.

Naishtat

## H.R. No. 1215

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	_	Strama
_	Longoria	
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	Speaker of the House	
I certify that H.R. No. 1215 was	s adopted by the House on April	
3, by a non-record vote.		

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 1215

2, 2013, by a non-record vote.