RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Led by Minister of Economy Zafer Caglayan, a group 2 of prominent businessmen from the Republic of Turkey is visiting 3 Austin on April 3, 2013, and it is indeed a pleasure to welcome this 4 distinguished delegation; and

5 WHEREAS, The Republic of Turkey and the United States foster 6 a strong strategic partnership based on common values and ideals 7 such as democracy, the rule of law, and the free market economy, and 8 our countries work together to address many challenges and to 9 promote mutual interests; and

WHEREAS, The 17th largest global economy, Turkey is an international business and financial powerhouse, with an average 5.2 percent annual growth from 2002 to 2011; it is an increasingly important commercial partner with the Lone Star State, and as part of Mr. Caglayan's efforts to further develop this relationship, Turkish Airlines has recently decided to offer nonstop flights between Houston and Istanbul; and

WHEREAS, Texas is home to some 50,000 Turkish-American 17 citizens and to organizations such as the Turquoise Council of 18 Americans and Eurasians, the Raindrop Foundation, and the Texas 19 Turkish American Chamber of Commerce that are all contributing 20 21 greatly to the economic vitality and cultural diversity of the state; in addition, the sister city connection between Austin and 22 23 Antalya and between Houston and Istanbul continually reinforces these bonds of friendship; and 24

1

1 WHEREAS, The State of Texas and the Republic of Turkey enjoy a 2 dynamic and mutually beneficial economic relationship, and this 3 vibrant trade alliance will continue to enhance prosperity and make 4 critical contributions to the global economy in the years to come; 5 now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 7 Legislature hereby welcome His Excellency Zafer Caglayan and the 8 accompanying Turkish delegation to Texas and extend to them sincere 9 best wishes for a productive and memorable visit to the state.

Pitts

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper**-**Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1217 was adopted by the House on April 3, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House