H.R. No. 1221

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Furthering its reputation as a basketball 2 powerhouse, the girls' team from North Central Texas Academy in 3 Granbury captured its third consecutive state championship with a 4 victory in the Texas Association of Private and Parochial Schools 5 Class 1A title game on March 2, 2013; and

6 WHEREAS, In claiming the crown, the Lady Pioneers capped a 7 remarkable season in which they finished with a record of 27 wins 8 and just 3 losses and were undefeated against their opponents in 9 district play; and

10 WHEREAS, The NCTA team began its march through the playoffs 11 by handily winning its first two postseason games against Bellville 12 Faith and Plainview Christian Academies; the Lady Pioneers then 13 beat district foe Wichita Falls Notre Dame Catholic School for the 14 third time this season to earn their place in the finals; and

WHEREAS, Matching up against the talented squad from Selma 15 16 River City Believers Academy in the championship contest, the NCTA players found themselves facing an eight-point deficit at the start 17 of the fourth quarter; the team retained its composure and focus, 18 however, and staged a thrilling comeback, outscoring its opponent 19 18-3 down the stretch to secure a 35-28 triumph; senior Shelby Lyle 20 21 scored seven points during the final quarter to lead the Lady Pioneer surge, and she earned All-Tournament honors along with 22 23 teammates Sara Etherington and Cinthya Rivas; and

24 WHEREAS, Benefiting from strong teamwork throughout the

1

season, the Lady Pioneers also received outstanding contributions
from the other members of the roster: Anna Strickland, Jennie Chen,
Melissa Rivera, Brooke Moss, Kali Mulchahy, Grace Na, McKenna
House, Wendi Pei, Sydney Lindsey, and Casey Wiliford; and

5 WHEREAS, These talented young women were guided by head coach 6 Emily Britt and assistant coach Chris Bloyd, with additional 7 support from athletic director Kirby Rasco and principal Jennifer 8 Smith; and

9 WHEREAS, The North Central Texas Academy Lady Pioneers have 10 demonstrated the dedication and skill necessary to repeatedly reach 11 the ultimate level of success, and their achievements will remain a 12 cherished memory for the athletes and the entire NCTA community for 13 many years to come; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the North Central Texas Academy girls' basketball team on winning the 2013 TAPPS 1A state championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 21 House of Representatives.

> Sheffield of Coryell Keffer

H.R. No. 1221

2

H.R. No. 1221

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1221

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1221 was adopted by the House on April 3, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House