H.R. No. 1241

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr., is retiring as president of
- 2 Southwest Texas Junior College in Uvalde on July 31, 2013, after
- 3 leading the institution for nearly a decade and a half and serving
- 4 as a faculty member and administrator at the school throughout his
- 5 impressive 45-year career; and
- 6 WHEREAS, A native of Cotulla, Ismael Sosa attended Sul Ross
- 7 State University in Alpine, where he earned a bachelor's degree in
- 8 1967 and a master's degree the following year; he started his
- 9 notable tenure at SWTJC in 1968 as an English and Spanish
- 10 instructor, and over the years, he assumed greater responsibilities
- 11 as he was promoted to director of community services, assistant
- 12 dean of students, dean of student services, and then dean of
- 13 admissions and student services; he was named president of the
- 14 college in 1999; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Sosa has overseen a number of achievements for
- 16 Southwest Texas Junior College, including significant growth in
- 17 enrollment and expanded facilities and course offerings in Uvalde,
- 18 Del Rio, Eagle Pass, Crystal City, Pearsall, and Hondo; the college
- 19 was also placed in the top 10 percent of community colleges in the
- 20 nation by the Aspen Institute in 2011; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Dr. Sosa has served as chair of the Rural Community
- 22 College Alliance, a national coalition of 160 schools; he is a
- 23 member of the National Council on Student Development and the Texas
- 24 Community College Teachers Association; and

H.R. No. 1241

- 1 WHEREAS, Active in the greater community, he served on the
- 2 Uvalde Consolidated Independent School District Board for nine
- 3 years, including four years as its president, and as vice president
- 4 of the board of Education Service Center Region 20; he has been a
- 5 member of the board of the United Way of Uvalde, the Community
- 6 Council of Southwest Texas, the El Progreso Library, and the Dale
- 7 Evans Sheltered Day Care Center; he was named Uvaldean of the Year
- 8 by the Uvalde Chamber of Commerce in 2011; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In all of his endeavors, Dr. Sosa draws inspiration
- 10 and support from his wife, Eunice, whom he met while studying at Sul
- 11 Ross; he is the proud father of three children, Dr. Virginia Sosa
- 12 Cox, Dr. Ismael Sosa III, and Joshua Sosa, and he has four beloved
- 13 grandchildren, Ryan Kenton Cox, Landon Cox, Jillian Alexis Sosa,
- 14 and Sophia Elisa Sosa; and
- 15 WHEREAS, Southwest Texas Junior College has been greatly
- 16 enriched by the dedication and vision that Dr. Ismael Sosa has
- 17 brought to the institution, and his contributions to his community
- 18 and the Lone Star State merit special recognition; now, therefore,
- 19 be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby honor Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr., on the occasion of
- 22 his retirement as president of Southwest Texas Junior College and
- 23 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued happiness; and, be
- 24 it further

H.R. No. 1241

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Dr. Sosa as an expression of high regard by the Texas

House of Representatives.

King of Zavala

H.R. No. 1241

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Tarker King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier		
	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

										H.R.	No.	1241
							Sp€	aker	of	the H	ouse	
	I	certify	that H.F	. No.	1241	was	adopted	by t	the	House	on I	April
1,	2013,	by a non	-record	vote.								

Chief Clerk of the House