RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Houston Police Department formed a Mental Health
- 2 Unit in 2007 to develop, implement, and manage the department's
- 3 multifaceted specialized response strategies for individuals in
- 4 serious mental health crises; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The Mental Health Unit is now a state and national
- 6 model, having trained the first group of Crisis Intervention Team
- 7 officers in the San Antonio and Austin Police Departments, as well
- 8 as numerous law enforcement officers and mental health
- 9 professionals across the state and nation; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In 2010, Houston became one of six police
- 11 departments nationally to be designated as a Learning Site by the
- 12 United States Council of State Governments; as such, the department
- 13 provides crisis intervention training and educational materials to
- 14 law enforcement officers and mental health personnel from across
- 15 the country and hosts site visits for them to learn about its
- 16 programs; and
- 17 WHEREAS, The Mental Health Unit has collaborated with
- 18 criminal justice, mental health, and advocacy organizations in
- 19 Houston and throughout Harris County to develop a number of
- 20 state-of-the-art programs; among them are the Crisis Intervention
- 21 Response Team, which pairs a Houston Mental Health Peace Officer
- 22 with a licensed professional counselor from the Mental Health
- 23 Mental Retardation Authority of Harris County to provide a highly
- 24 specialized response to individuals in the most serious mental

- 1 health crises, and the Chronic Consumer Stabilization Initiative, a
- 2 proactive program to keep chronic consumers out of crisis with
- 3 intensive case management; this initiative, which has reduced the
- 4 number of calls-for-service to individuals on its caseload by as
- 5 much as 70 percent, was recognized with the prestigious 2010
- 6 International Association of Chiefs of Police Community Policing
- 7 Award and was a finalist for the Herman Goldstein Award for
- 8 Excellence in Problem-Oriented Policing; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In 2011, the Mental Health Unit implemented a
- 10 Homeless Outreach Team with the mission of improving the lives of
- 11 homeless Houstonians and reducing their numbers by helping them
- 12 overcome the barriers that keep them homeless; during its first two
- 13 years, the Homeless Outreach Team found housing for more than 200 $\,$
- 14 homeless individuals and referred over 1,000 individuals to local
- 15 service providers, thereby connecting them with physical and mental
- 16 health care; and
- WHEREAS, In addition to these endeavors, the City of Houston
- 18 collaborated with community organizations to open the Houston
- 19 Center for Sobriety, a facility closely aligned with the Houston
- 20 Police Department's Mental Health Unit, and the unit's manager,
- 21 Lieutenant Mike Lee, was instrumental in its design, development,
- 22 and implementation; the center serves as an alternative to jail for
- 23 people who are publicly intoxicated, as they can remain in the
- 24 facility until sober; they are subsequently counseled for alcohol
- 25 and substance abuse problems and provided with referral information
- 26 for follow-up counseling and treatment; and
- 27 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of Chief of Police Charles

- 1 A. McClelland, Jr., Executive Assistant Chief Timothy
- 2 N. Oettmeier, and Mental Health Unit Manager Lieutenant Michael
- 3 A. Lee, the Houston Police Department's Mental Health Unit
- 4 continues to exemplify excellence and innovation through
- 5 collaboration and commitment; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby commend the Houston Police Department's Mental
- 8 Health Unit for its service to the community, mental health
- 9 professionals, and the criminal justice system and extend to all
- 10 those associated with the unit sincere best wishes for continued
- 11 success; and, be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 13 prepared for the unit as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 14 House of Representatives.

Walle
J. Davis of Harris
S. Davis of Harris
Elkins
Harless
Hernandez Luna
Vo

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	_	Strama
_	Longoria	
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	Speaker of the House								
was	adopted	by	the	House	on	April			

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 1248

I certify that H.R. No. 1248

4, 2013, by a non-record vote.