H.R. No. 1254

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The safety and well-being of the children of Texas 2 are of concern to all our citizens, but an estimated 50,000 youths 3 are reported missing each year in this state; and

WHEREAS, Since 1983, May 25th has been recognized as National
Missing Children's Day, and this occasion affords an opportunity to
make child protection a countrywide priority; and

7 WHEREAS, Through the Take 25 Campaign, the National Center 8 for Missing and Exploited Children and its Texas regional office 9 provide resources to help families learn about and prevent 10 abductions; since 1990, the percentage of domestically missing 11 children who have been found has increased from 62 percent to 96 12 percent; and

13 WHEREAS, Participation in this cause by local governments, 14 law enforcement, schools, community-based organizations, and 15 families will lead to increased awareness of appropriate protective 16 measures and result in safer communities; and

WHEREAS, National Missing Children's Day is a time to remember those who have been taken, offer hope to their loved ones, and educate the public about a matter of serious concern; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1254 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 2 Legislature hereby recognize May 25, 2013, as National Missing 3 Children's Day and encourage all Texans to learn more about this 4 heartbreaking issue.

Frullo

H.R. No. 1254

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1254

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1254 was adopted by the House on April 17, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House