## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, South Texas College was named the 2013 winner of the

Leah Meyer Austin Award by the national nonprofit Achieving the

3 Dream, with the support of The Kresge Foundation; and

4 WHEREAS, Dedicated to helping low-income and minority

5 community college students stay in school and earn a certificate or

6 degree, Achieving the Dream is a leader in higher education reform;

7 the organization annually recognizes outstanding institutional

8 achievement with the Leah Meyer Austin Award; and

9 WHEREAS, South Texas College draws enrollment from two

10 counties along the United States border with Mexico in a

11 fast-growing region of Texas; many of its students are the first in

12 their families to attend college and about three-quarters of those

13 admitted receive financial aid; and

2

14 WHEREAS, Since joining Achieving the Dream in 2004, STC has

15 implemented a number of recommended changes with positive results;

16 the school has been able to raise its three-year graduation rate,

17 expand its dual enrollment program, strengthen the college

18 readiness of incoming students, and increase completion rates in

19 developmental and gateway courses; as part of the Leah Meyer Austin

20 Award, STC has received \$25,000 to support its ongoing efforts; and

21 WHEREAS, South Texas College has demonstrated a commitment to

22 ensuring a bright and promising future for all of its students, and

23 this prestigious accolade justly recognizes the hard work and

24 dedication of STC leadership, faculty, and staff in attaining that

H.R. No. 1264

- 1 goal; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby honor South Texas College on its receipt of the
- 4 Leah Meyer Austin Award from Achieving the Dream and extend to all
- 5 those associated with the school sincere best wishes for continued
- 6 success; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for South Texas College as an expression of high regard by
- 9 the Texas House of Representatives.

Munoz, Jr.
Martinez
Guerra
Longoria
Canales

## H.R. No. 1264

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	
Burkett	-	Raney Ratliff
	Hughes Hunter	
Burnam		Raymond
Button	Isaac Johnson	Reynolds Riddle
Callegari		
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas
	/	

	H.R. No. 1264
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1264 was 17, 2013, by a non-record vote.	s adopted by the House on April
	Chief Clerk of the House