By: Munoz, Jr.

H.R. No. 1264

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, South Texas College was named the 2013 winner of the 2 Leah Meyer Austin Award by the national nonprofit Achieving the 3 Dream, with the support of The Kresge Foundation; and

WHEREAS, Dedicated to helping low-income and minority community college students stay in school and earn a certificate or degree, Achieving the Dream is a leader in higher education reform; the organization annually recognizes outstanding institutional achievement with the Leah Meyer Austin Award; and

9 WHEREAS, South Texas College draws enrollment from two 10 counties along the United States border with Mexico in a 11 fast-growing region of Texas; many of its students are the first in 12 their families to attend college and about three-quarters of those 13 admitted receive financial aid; and

WHEREAS, Since joining Achieving the Dream in 2004, STC has implemented a number of recommended changes with positive results; the school has been able to raise its three-year graduation rate, expand its dual enrollment program, strengthen the college readiness of incoming students, and increase completion rates in developmental and gateway courses; as part of the Leah Meyer Austin Award, STC has received \$25,000 to support its ongoing efforts; and

21 WHEREAS, South Texas College has demonstrated a commitment to 22 ensuring a bright and promising future for all of its students, and 23 this prestigious accolade justly recognizes the hard work and 24 dedication of STC leadership, faculty, and staff in attaining that

1

H.R. No. 1264

1 goal; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 3 Legislature hereby honor South Texas College on its receipt of the 4 Leah Meyer Austin Award from Achieving the Dream and extend to all 5 those associated with the school sincere best wishes for continued 6 success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for South Texas College as an expression of high regard by
the Texas House of Representatives.