RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Katy are gathering in Austin to
celebrate Katy Day at the State Capitol on April 4, 2013; and

3 WHEREAS, Situated on the coastal prairie among the grasslands and bayous, the community was originally known as Cane Island; it 4 5 was first settled in the 1870s as a farming community, with residents primarily growing cotton, peanuts, and corn until 1901, 6 7 when William Eule introduced rice farming; the town came to be called Katy, after the depot of the Missouri, Kansas and Texas 8 Railroad (the MKT) -- or perhaps after the wife of a saloonkeeper; 9 10 and

11 WHEREAS, The discovery of natural gas in 1934 changed the fortunes of area residents, who profited from the size of the field 12 its proximity to Houston's refineries; the 13 and city was 14 incorporated in 1945 and today is an important rail and agricultural center; and 15

WHEREAS, The Katy Independent School District is one of the 16 fastest-growing in the state; having completed many new campuses in 17 the past decade, it now includes 35 elementary schools, 13 junior 18 highs, 8 high schools, a career technology center, and an 19 20 alternative high school; the district places a strong emphasis on 21 technology, providing computers in each classroom and stationary 22 and wireless labs in every school; student achievement on 23 standardized tests consistently surpasses statewide levels, and 19 24 Katy campuses have been designated as exemplary in the

1

1 accountability ratings compiled by the Texas Education Agency; and 2 WHEREAS, Several city attractions provide a window on the 3 area's past, including the Katy Heritage Museum, the vintage 4 buildings that make up Heritage Park, and the town's 1898 train 5 depot, which has been restored to house the MKT Museum; and

6 WHEREAS, Throughout the year, Katy hosts a number of popular 7 events that draw locals and visitors alike; the Katy Independent 8 School District FFA Livestock Show and Rodeo is held in February, 9 the Folk Life Festival takes place in April, and the Rice Harvest 10 Festival honors the city's agricultural traditions each October; 11 and

12 WHEREAS, For more than a century, Katy has been an 13 outstanding place to live and work, and its citizens may take great 14 pride in their contributions to the Lone Star State; now, 15 therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 17 Legislature hereby recognize April 4, 2013, as Katy Day at the State 18 Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best wishes for an 19 enjoyable and informative stay in Austin.

> Zerwas Callegari

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1272 was adopted by the House on April 4, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House