H.R. No. 1273

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
- 2 welcome the reigning Feria de las Flores queen, Mariela Hernandez,
- 3 and contestants of the 2013 Scholarship Pageant to the State
- 4 Capitol on April 9, 2013; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The pageant has been sponsored by LULAC Council No.
- 6 1 since 1959; through the generous support of the South Texas
- 7 business community, LULAC has distributed more than \$1.5 million in
- 8 scholarship funds to students throughout the Coastal Bend area; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The competition's contestants are judged in six
- 10 categories: beauty, personality, poise, costume, dance routine,
- 11 and onstage question, and the event, which is designed to pay
- 12 tribute to the heritage of Mexican American citizens, features
- 13 music, dance, and dress that typify various regions south of the
- 14 border; and
- WHEREAS, Joining last year's winner, reigning queen Mariela
- 16 Hernandez, and pageant sponsors Elva Estrada, Olivia Barrera,
- 17 Sylvia Garza, Bobby Barrera, and Carlos Moreno, the talented
- 18 individuals participating in this year's competition are Destinee
- 19 Martinez and Destini Rodriguez of Robstown, Mona-elo Martinez of
- 20 Kingsville, Vanessa Baltierra of Banquete, and Karen Cantu, Ivonne
- 21 Ramirez, Amber San Miguel, Heather Segovia, Alyssa Sifuentes,
- 22 Iliana Silvas, Elizabeth Escamilla, Angela Garcia, and Kristine
- 23 Garza, all of Corpus Christi; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Through their involvement, these contestants have

H.R. No. 1273

- 1 demonstrated great cultural pride and community spirit, and they
- 2 may indeed look forward to a bright and promising future; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby welcome Mariela Hernandez, the reigning queen of
- 6 Feria de las Flores, and the 2013 Scholarship Pageant contestants
- 7 to the State Capitol and extend to them sincere best wishes for a
- 8 memorable visit; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for the participants as an expression of high regard by the
- 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Herrero Hunter

## H.R. No. 1273

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado		Paddie
Anchia	Guerra	Parker
<u></u>	Guillen	
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Hemphill King of Parker	Rose
Coleman		Sanford
	King of Taylor	Schaefer
Collier	King of Zavala	
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	zedler
Gonzales		
GOIIZATES	Nevarez	Zerwas

								Speaker of the House					
I	certif	y th	at I	H.R.	No.	1273	was	adopte	d by	the	House	on	April
3,	by a n	on-re	ecoi	cd vo	te.								

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 1273

8, 2013, by a non-record vote.