H.R. No. 1276

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Felicia Avila of Robstown High School distinguished
- 2 herself with her powerlifting achievements during 2013, earning a
- 3 trip to the state meet and placing in the top seven among the 3A
- 4 competitors in her weight class; and
- 5 WHEREAS, In order to qualify for state, an athlete must prove
- 6 her abilities at the regional meet by finishing in first or second
- 7 place or by lifting a specified total weight; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Ms. Avila took part in the Region 5 Division 2 event
- 9 on March 2 in Kingsville under the guidance of coach Ronnie
- 10 Castaneda; she reached the qualifying total for the 198-pound
- 11 weight class by lifting 350 pounds on the squat, 125 pounds on the
- 12 bench press, and 320 pounds on the deadlift for a total of 795
- 13 pounds; in so doing, she became the first state qualifier from
- 14 Robstown since 2003; and
- 15 WHEREAS, Advancing to the Texas High School Women's
- 16 Powerlifting Association State Meet in Corpus Christi on March 15,
- 17 Ms. Avila topped her regional performance by tallying a total of
- 18 800 pounds, which resulted in a seventh-place finish; and
- 19 WHEREAS, By qualifying for a berth at the state meet and
- 20 making a fine showing against the top high school lifters in Texas,
- 21 Felicia Avila has furthered her school's reputation for athletic
- 22 excellence, and she may indeed take pride in her outstanding
- 23 accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

H.R. No. 1276

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Felicia Avila on qualifying for the
- 2 Texas High School Women's Powerlifting Association State Meet and
- 3 extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 4 further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Ms. Avila as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 1276

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1276 was adopted by the House on April 17, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House