RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Major General Raymond C. Peters, commander of the
Texas State Guard, retired on July 28, 2012, after an outstanding
military career that spanned nearly half a century; and
WHEREAS, General Peters attended the Texas National Guard
Academy at Camp Mabry and was commissioned as a second lieutenant in
June 1965; he subsequently served with numerous units in the
national guard, including Company C 112th Armor, the 1st Battalion

- 8 133rd Field Artillery, the 2nd Battalion (Airborne) 143rd Infantry,
- 9 the 386th Engineer Battalion, and the 111th Area Support Group;
- 10 moreover, he completed notable assignments as commander of the
- 11 386th Engineer Battalion, commander of the 142nd Support Detachment
- 12 (RAOC), and deputy director of the Surface Maintenance Directorate;
- 13 and
- 14 WHEREAS, Following his retirement from the national guard in
- 15 1997, General Peters joined the Texas State Guard as its director
- 16 and chief of staff; in October 2005, he received promotion to the
- 17 rank of brigadier general and became deputy commander; four years
- 18 later, on July 25, 2009, he was promoted to major general and
- 19 appointed to the office of commander; and
- 20 WHEREAS, In his position as the senior officer of the state
- 21 guard, General Peters commanded a force that provides critical
- 22 assistance to local and state authorities in times of emergency; in
- 23 addition, the Texas State Guard supports an annual health
- 24 initiative in South Texas, participates in a program to suppress

H.R. No. 1280

- 1 rabies in wild animals in South and West Texas, and undertakes other
- 2 efforts that benefit communities across the Lone Star State; and
- 3 WHEREAS, This esteemed officer is a graduate of the United
- 4 States Army Command and General Staff College, the Armor, Field
- 5 Artillery, Engineer, and Quartermaster Schools, and the Infantry
- 6 Advanced Course; he earned his bachelor of science degree from
- 7 Liberty University; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The awards conferred on General Peters include the
- 9 Legion of Merit, the Meritorious Service Medal with six oak leaf
- 10 clusters, the Army Commendation Medal, and the Army Achievement
- 11 Medal, as well as the Military Volunteer Outstanding Service Medal,
- 12 the Lone Star Distinguished Service Medal, the Texas Outstanding
- 13 Service Medal, the Texas Medal of Merit, and the Master Parachutist
- 14 Badge; and
- WHEREAS, Throughout a career distinguished by decisive
- 16 leadership and consummate professionalism, General Peters has
- 17 demonstrated a commitment to excellence in the execution of his
- 18 duties, and he has earned the lasting respect and appreciation of
- 19 his fellow citizens; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby congratulate Major General Raymond C. Peters on
- 22 his retirement as commander of the Texas State Guard and commend him
- 23 for his exemplary service to this state and nation; and, be it
- 24 further

H.R. No. 1280

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for General Peters as an expression of high regard by the
- 3 Texas House of Representatives.

Flynn

H.R. No. 1280

| Straus | M. Gonzalez of El Paso | Oliveira |
|---------------------|------------------------|----------------------|
| Allen | N. Gonzalez of El Paso | Orr |
| Alonzo | Gooden | Otto |
| Alvarado | Guerra | Paddie |
| Anchia | Guillen | Parker |
| Anderson | Gutierrez | Patrick |
| Ashby | Harless | Perez |
| Aycock | Harper-Brown | Perry |
| Bell | Hernandez Luna | Phillips |
| Bohac | Herrero | Pickett |
| Bonnen of Brazoria | Hilderbran | Pitts |
| Bonnen of Galveston | Howard | Price |
| Branch | Huberty | |
| Burkett | - | Raney Ratliff |
| | Hughes Hunter | |
| Burnam | | Raymond |
| Button | Isaac Johnson | Reynolds Riddle |
| Callegari | | |
| Canales | Kacal | Ritter |
| Capriglione | Keffer | Rodriguez of Bexar |
| Carter | King of Hemphill | Rodriguez of Travis |
| Clardy | King of Parker | Rose |
| Coleman | King of Taylor | Sanford |
| Collier | King of Zavala | Schaefer |
| Cook | Kleinschmidt | Sheets |
| Cortez | Klick | Sheffield of Bell |
| Craddick | Kolkhorst | Sheffield of Coryell |
| Creighton | Krause | Simmons |
| Crownover | Kuempel | Simpson |
| Dale | Larson | Smith |
| Darby | Laubenberg | Smithee |
| Davis of Dallas | Lavender | Springer |
| J. Davis of Harris | Leach | Stephenson |
| S. Davis of Harris | Lewis | Stickland |
| Deshotel | Longoria | Strama |
| Dukes | Lozano | Taylor |
| Dutton | Lucio III | Thompson of Brazoria |
| Eiland | Marquez | Thompson of Harris |
| Elkins | Martinez | Toth |
| Fallon | Martinez Fischer | Turner of Collin |
| Farias | McClendon | Turner of Harris |
| Farney | Menendez | Turner of Tarrant |
| Farrar | Miles | Villalba |
| Fletcher | Miller of Comal | Villarreal |
| Flynn | Miller of Fort Bend | Vo |
| Frank | Moody | Walle |
| Frullo | Morrison | White |
| Geren | Munoz, Jr. | Workman |
| Giddings | Murphy | Wu |
| Goldman | Naishtat | Zedler |
| Gonzales | Nevarez | Zerwas |
| | , | |

| | H.R. NO. 1280 |
|----------------------------------|---------------------------------|
| | |
| | Speaker of the House |
| I certify that H.R. No. 1280 was | s adopted by the House on April |
| 17, 2013, by a non-record vote. | |
| | |
| | Chief Clerk of the House |