RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The South Texas College of Law is honoring four of
- 2 its most accomplished alumni at its Awards Gala on April 20, 2013;
- 3 and
- WHEREAS, Founded on April 13, 1923, the South Texas College
- 5 of Law is dedicated to providing students with an exceptional legal
- 6 education while preparing them to serve the profession and their
- 7 communities with distinction; as Houston's oldest law school and
- 8 one of the largest private law schools in the nation, it has
- 9 produced numerous graduates who have made outstanding
- 10 contributions to their communities and this state; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Four such individuals are Randall O. Sorrels, Ann
- 12 E. Johnson, Imogen S. Papadopoulos, and Gordon J. Quan, all of whom
- 13 bring great credit to the university in their professional and
- 14 civic endeavors; and
- WHEREAS, The recipient of the prestigious Dean's Medal is
- 16 Randall O. Sorrels; a 1987 graduate, Mr. Sorrels is a managing
- 17 partner of Abraham, Watkins, Nichols, Sorrels, Agosto & Friend, and
- 18 he has held leadership posts in such organizations as the Houston
- 19 Bar Association, the Houston Trial Lawyers Association, and the
- 20 State Bar of Texas; his many accolades include being named one of
- 21 the Top 100 Lawyers in Texas by Texas Monthly magazine and one of
- 22 the Top 100 Trial Lawyers by the American Trial Lawyers
- 23 Association; he remains actively involved with his alma mater and
- 24 the Randall O. Sorrels Legal Clinics are named in his honor; and

1 WHEREAS, Ann Johnson of the class of 2001 is being recognized with an Alumni Impact Award for her work in child advocacy law, 2 3 especially relating to juvenile victims of sex trafficking and exploitation; in 2010, she successfully argued before the Texas 4 5 Supreme Court that minors under age 14 cannot be charged with prostitution, which resulted in a landmark ruling in her young 6 client's favor that became a model for justice in other states; she 7 8 currently practices at the Johnson Law Firm alongside her father, a 1963 graduate of South Texas, and additionally represents victims 9 10 of bullying and harassment at schools; and WHEREAS, Imogen Papadopoulos, a 1984 graduate and the 2003

11 12 Distinguished Alumna, is receiving an Alumni Impact Award for her many noteworthy achievements; a board-certified family 13 14 attorney and mediator, she has won myriad accolades for her work in 15 behalf of children and families; among the multitude professional organizations that have benefited from her leadership 16 17 and expertise are the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services Council, of which she is vice chair, and the Houston Bar 18 Association's Family Law Section, of which she is a former 19 president; moreover, she has served on the South Texas College of 20 Law Board of Directors and on the board of the alumni association; 21 22 and

WHEREAS, Also receiving an Alumni Impact Award is Gordon Quan of the class of 1977, who is co-chair of FosterQuan, LLP, one of the largest immigration law firms in the country; his ardent concern for the immigrant community led him to help found the South Texas Asylum and Human Trafficking project, which operates in partnership

- 1 with his firm; he has been a member of the college's board since
- 2 2008 and presently is chair of the Texas Chapter of the American
- 3 Immigration Lawyers Association; he served on the Houston City
- 4 Council from 2000 to 2006 and was named one of the "Lawyers of the
- 5 Year" in immigration law in the 2012 edition of Best Lawyers in
- 6 America; and
- WHEREAS, Exemplary of the highest ideals of their profession,
- 8 these notable Texans demonstrate the skill and dedication that is
- 9 essential to the practice of law, and this occasion provides a
- 10 fitting opportunity to recognize them; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby honor the South Texas College of Law and
- 13 congratulate Randall O. Sorrels on his receipt of the Dean's Medal
- 14 and Ann Johnson, Imogen Papadopoulos, and Gordon Quan on their
- 15 receipt of Alumni Impact Awards from the college; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 17 for the South Texas College of Law and for each of the recipients as
- 18 an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Wu

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1281
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1281 wa	as adopted by the House on April
3, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

8, 2013, by a non-record vote.