H.R. No. 1282

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Major Jim Horn of Denton continues to serve his 2 country with exemplary dedication while compiling an exceptional 3 record of achievement; and

WHEREAS, Born in Denton on August 6, 1979, Major Horn is the son of former Texas state representative Jim Horn and Denton County judge Mary Horn; a star athlete in high school, he attended the United States Military Academy at West Point, where he played on the soccer team; he graduated in 2001 and was commissioned as a second lieutenant in the infantry; and

WHEREAS, In March 2003, Lieutenant Horn took part in the 10 11 invasion of Iraq as coalition forces launched Operation Iraqi 12 Freedom; he served as an infantry platoon leader and reconnaissance platoon leader with the 3rd Infantry, which led in the capture of 13 14 Baghdad; on returning home, he was promoted to captain and sent to the captain's career course at Fort Benning, Georgia; subsequently, 15 he was asked to serve as an instructor for the final "swamp phase" 16 of the Army Ranger School at Eglin Air Force Base, Florida; and 17

WHEREAS, During his second deployment with the 82nd Airborne Division, Captain Horn served as an infantry company commander in western Iraq, where he used counterinsurgency methods to support Iraqi allies; finally, in his third and last tour in Iraq, he served as a brigade headquarters company commander, overseeing security and contracts at Camp Ramadi; and

24

WHEREAS, After completing his final tour of duty in Iraq,

1

this outstanding officer received promotion to major and attended the Naval War College in Rhode Island; Major Horn graduated with distinction and was selected to become a Director Fellow on the Chief of Naval Operations Strategic Studies Group, an annual think tank, where he worked on concepts of future warfare; and

H.R. No. 1282

6 WHEREAS, After completing his work with the Strategic Studies 7 Group, Major Horn was assigned to the 173rd Airborne Brigade in 8 Vicenza, Italy, and was deployed to Afghanistan, where he served as 9 deputy brigade operations officer; he managed the brigade's Plans 10 and Orders Shop and targeting process while it conducted its 11 Security Force Assistant mission, closed several bases, and began 12 shipping equipment out of the country; and

WHEREAS, In May 2013, Major Horn is assuming the post of executive officer for the 2nd Battalion, 503rd Parachute Infantry Regiment; among the many decorations and awards conferred on Major Horn by the army are five Bronze Stars, the Meritorious Service Medal, and the Iraq and Afghanistan Campaign Medals; and

WHEREAS, Through his selfless and unfaltering devotion to his country, Major Horn embodies the highest ideals of the United States armed forces, and he has earned the lasting respect, gratitude, and admiration of his fellow Texans and all Americans; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby honor U.S. Army Major Jim Horn for his courageous service in this country's behalf and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2

H.R. No. 12821 prepared for Major Horn as an expression of high regard by the Texas2 House of Representatives.

Crownover

H.R. No. 1282

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1282

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1282 was adopted by the House on April 3, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House