RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Public-spirited citizens from across the Lone Star 2 State are gathering in Austin on April 9, 2013, to advocate for 3 women and their families during Blue Ribbon Lobby Day at the 4 Capitol; and

5 WHEREAS, Led by organizers Diane Mosier, president of River 6 Oaks Area Democratic Women, and Lize Burr, president of Capitol 7 Area Democratic Women, and joined by concerned women and leaders 8 from around the state, Blue Ribbon Lobby Day was created to bring 9 attention to issues important to Texan women, including public 10 education, health care, and economic well-being; and

11 WHEREAS, During this day of action, progressive and 12 Democratic women are meeting with state legislators to discuss the 13 message that women are integral to the economic success of this 14 state, and that the state's continued prosperity depends on 15 ensuring that women have equal opportunities and that their rights 16 are equally protected; and

WHEREAS, Those who attend the day's events are wearing blue to signify their support of the cause and to raise awareness of a number of disheartening statistics, including that Texas has the highest percentage of uninsured women in the country and that more than a fourth, or 1.7 million, Texas children live in poverty; and

22 WHEREAS, Blue Ribbon Lobby Day is helping to raise the voices 23 and call attention to the concerns of women and their families, and 24 the event stands as a testament to the positive difference that

1

1 engaged Texas women can make; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 3 Legislature hereby recognize April 9, 2013, as Blue Ribbon Lobby 4 Day at the Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the advocates who 5 are visiting here today.

> Farrar Menendez Allen Herrero Davis of Dallas

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1310 was adopted by the House on April 9, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House