RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, While overall cancer incidence and mortality rates 2 are on the decline in the United States, the disease continues to disproportionately impact the lives of members of minority racial 3 and ethnic groups; and 4 5 WHEREAS, According to the American Cancer Society, African

American men are 36 percent more likely to die from cancer than 6 white men, and African American women are 17 percent more likely to die from cancer than their white counterparts; Hispanic Americans 8 of both sexes have lower rates for all cancers combined but higher 9 rates for certain types, including uterine, cervical, and stomach 10 11 cancer; and

WHEREAS, These differences are believed to be rooted in socioeconomic factors, including higher levels of poverty among some minority groups; as poverty coincides with reduced access to health insurance, minorities often delay seeking diagnosis and treatment for health problems, resulting in cancer being detected at more advanced stages with a far less optimistic prognosis; and

WHEREAS, In 2011, the Texas Legislature designated April as

Minority Cancer Awareness Month in bill 19 а authored bу Representative Ruth Jones McClendon, herself a cancer survivor; 20 21 backed by health and advocacy groups across the state and nation, this important observance serves to raise awareness of the issue of 22 23 cancer inequality and the lifesaving power of prevention and early

detection; now, therefore, be it 24

7

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize April 2013 as Minority Cancer
- 3 Awareness Month and encourage all Texans to learn more about
- 4 preventative measures and to seek medical attention at the first
- 5 warning signs of cancer.

McClendon

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	
Burkett	-	Raney Ratliff
	Hughes Hunter	
Burnam		Raymond
Button	Isaac Johnson	Reynolds Riddle
Callegari		
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas
	/	

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1320 wa	as adopted by the House on April
3, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

4, 2013, by a non-record vote.