## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Collegiate and alumnae members of the Delta Sigma
- 2 Theta Sorority are gathering in Austin on April 8, 2013, to mark Red
- 3 and White Day, a day of advocacy and action, at the State Capitol;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, The Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was initiated in 1913
- 6 at Howard University in Washington, D.C.; the 22 original members
- 7 included four young women from Texas, Zephyr Chisom Carter, Jessie
- 8 McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, and Myra Davis Hemmings, all
- 9 committed to academic excellence and social change; members marched
- 10 in a women's suffrage parade soon after, and they incorporated as a
- 11 national organization in 1930; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Today, the sorority has a membership of more than
- 13 250,000 women in the United States and several foreign countries,
- 14 organized into about 1,000 chapters, including over 250 in the Lone
- 15 Star State; members work toward positive change in their
- 16 communities and advocate for economic development, international
- 17 awareness, physical and mental health, and improved education;
- 18 moreover, they mentor at-risk African American girls, conduct voter
- 19 awareness drives, host political forums, and help guide and inform
- 20 public policy; and
- 21 WHEREAS, The women of Delta Sigma Theta have enriched the
- 22 State of Texas and the nation with their generosity and their wide
- 23 array of programs and services, and it is indeed a pleasure to
- 24 commend them for their noteworthy endeavors; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1322

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize April 8, 2013, as Red and White Day at
- 3 the State Capitol and extend to all those involved with the Delta
- 4 Sigma Theta Sorority sincere best wishes for continued success with
- 5 their important work; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the sorority as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon Rose Davis of Dallas Johnson Allen Carter Collier Deshotel Dukes Dutton Giddings Longoria Reynolds Thompson of Harris Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Turner of Collin White

## H.R. No. 1322

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	
Burkett	-	Raney Ratliff
	Hughes Hunter	
Burnam		Raymond
Button	Isaac Johnson	Reynolds Riddle
Callegari		
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas
	/	

							Speaker of the House					
Ι	certify	that	H.R.	No.	1322	was	adopte	d b	y the	House	on	April
3,	by a non	-reco	ord vo	ote.								

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 1322

8, 2013, by a non-record vote.