H.R. No. 1338

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. Lovell Jones of Houston has greatly contributed 2 to the field of medicine through his work to improve health care for 3 minorities and the medically underserved; and

WHEREAS, Affiliated with The University of Texas MD Anderson 4 5 Cancer Center for more than three decades, Dr. Jones currently serves as director of the Dorothy I. Height Center for Health 6 7 Equity and Evaluation Research, a program dedicated to addressing medical inequalities through a holistic approach; he has further 8 contributed to this vital mission as chair of the Health 9 Disparities Education, Awareness, Research & Training Consortium, 10 11 as founding co-chair of the Intercultural Cancer Council, and as editor of Minorities & Cancer, one of the few comprehensive 12 textbooks on the subject; and 13

WHEREAS, This notable Texan is also the founding chair of Minorities, the Medically Underserved and Cancer, a multicultural biennial conference to promote the exchange of the latest scientific and treatment information; and

18 WHEREAS, Dr. Lovell A. Jones has been a tireless health care 19 advocate for those in this country who have borne the burden of 20 disease disproportionately, and it is a privilege to recognize his 21 insightful and inspiring leadership in addressing an issue of 22 immeasurable import for all Americans; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
 Legislature hereby honor Dr. Lovell Jones for his work to reduce

1

H.R. No. 1338 1 disparities in health care for minorities and the medically 2 underserved and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued 3 success in all his endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Dr. Jones as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

McClendon

H.R. No. 1338

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1338

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1338 was adopted by the House on April 4, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House