RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Samsung Electronics has demonstrated a commitment 2 to creating jobs in Texas by placing its only semiconductor manufacturing plant outside of Korea in Austin, and now it is 3 deepening that commitment with a \$4 billion expansion of the 4 5 factory; and 6 WHEREAS, The newly expanded fabrication plant will be one of 7 the largest in the United States, producing advanced logic devices for Samsung's large-scale integrated circuits business, while 8 9 continuing to manufacture the NAND Flash memory chips; in addition, the company will expand the Samsung Austin Semiconductor Research 10 11 Center (SARC), which already employs more than 200 engineers; and 12 WHEREAS, Due to be up and running by the end of 2013, this 13 expansion will bring an additional 500 jobs to Austin, increasing 14 the payroll impact on the local economy to well over \$100 million; the company has contributed to the community with more than \$2.5 15 million in donations to local organizations, and through the 16 company's active giving campaign, its employees have contributed a 17 18 further \$10 million; the expansion of the plant will bring Samsung's total investment in Austin to \$15 billion; and 19 20 WHEREAS, This dynamic corporation also plays a significant 21 role in the North Texas business community; more than 2,000 Texans are employed at the Samsung Telecommunications America facility in 22 23 Dallas, which opened in 1996; today, its staff develops a wide range 24 of personal and business communications products, including

H.R. No. 1339

- 1 wireless phones, tablets, wireless communications infrastructure
- 2 systems, fiber optics, and enterprise communications systems, and
- 3 it markets them throughout North America; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Over one million Samsung phones arrive at the
- 5 Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport every week, and the Mobile
- 6 Handset division in Dallas is the fastest-growing business segment
- 7 in the history of its parent company, Samsung Electronics Co.,
- 8 Ltd.; the division has been recognized as the number one mobile
- 9 phone manufacturer in customer loyalty for five consecutive years,
- 10 and it has driven the global value of the brand to stratospheric
- 11 heights; and
- WHEREAS, Texas is proud of the major corporations and highly
- 13 skilled workforces that have a presence here, and the expansion of
- 14 Samsung Austin Semiconductor is sure to bring great benefit to the
- 15 company and this state for years to come; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby congratulate Samsung Electronics on the
- 18 expansion of the Samsung Austin Semiconductor plant and honor the
- 19 company for its contributions to the prosperity of the Lone Star
- 20 State; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Samsung Electronics as an expression of high regard by
- 23 the Texas House of Representatives.

Strama Leach

H.R. No. 1339

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado		Paddie
Anchia	Guerra	Parker
<u></u>	Guillen	
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Hemphill King of Parker	Rose
Coleman		Sanford
	King of Taylor	Schaefer
Collier	King of Zavala	
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	zedler
Gonzales		
GOIIZATES	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1339
Speaker o	f the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1339 was adopted by the	e House on April
16, 2013, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House