## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Texas A&M University--San Antonio has greatly
 benefited from the dynamic leadership of Dr. Maria Hernandez
 Ferrier, the institution's inaugural president; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Ferrier assumed the presidency on February 12, 4 5 2010, having served for two years as executive director and interim president during A&M--San Antonio's transition from a system center 6 7 to a stand-alone university; in addition to guiding the campus through that transformative period, she has provided effective 8 stewardship of institutional resources and has nurtured strategic 9 partnerships with businesses and community members as well as with 10 11 local, state, and national leaders; committed to serving the needs 12 of area students, she has worked to promote A&M--San Antonio's expansion from a center offering only upper-level courses to a 13 14 comprehensive four-year undergraduate school; and

WHEREAS, This esteemed administrator is a graduate of Our Lady of the Lake University, where she earned a bachelor's degree in speech and a master's degree in guidance and counseling; she went on to complete her doctorate in educational administration at Texas A&M and spent 20 years working as a counselor and speech therapist in San Antonio schools; and

21 WHEREAS, In 1992, after working for the Corporation for 22 National and Community Service under President George H. W. Bush, 23 Dr. Ferrier was named Director of Bilingual Education and Minority 24 Language Affairs for the U.S. Department of Education; President

1

1 George W. Bush appointed her in 2002 to direct an office within the that focused on students with limited 2 department English 3 proficiency; accepting increasing responsibility through the years, she was eventually named assistant deputy secretary of the 4 5 department, and in that role, she served as a principal advisor to the secretary and as a liaison between the department and the 6 business community; and 7

8 WHEREAS, Dr. Ferrier's other accomplishments include helping 9 to develop and implement such programs as City Year, a national 10 service organization that became the model for AmeriCorps, and 11 Partners in Pride, the first in-school mentoring program in Texas; 12 moreover, she initiated the first elementary school chapter of 13 Students Against Driving Drunk; and

14 WHEREAS, Highly active in professional and civic groups, Dr. 15 Ferrier has shared her expertise as a member of the Council of Public University Presidents and Chancellors and as co-chair of the 16 17 National Leadership Team for the Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities; she currently holds seats on the boards of a 18 19 variety of organizations, among them the Chamber Orchestra of San Antonio, the United Way of San Antonio, Southwest General Hospital, 20 21 and the Texas-Israel Chamber of Commerce; and

22 WHEREAS, Dr. Ferrier is the recipient of numerous accolades, 23 including a 2011 Golden Deeds Award from the Administrative 24 Leadership Institute, a 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award from the 25 San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, and a 2003 Hispanic 26 Heritage Award from the Department of Labor; in 1999, she was 27 selected as the first distinguished visiting professor for the

2

1 doctoral program of the Center for Leadership Studies at Our Lady of 2 the Lake University; and

3 WHEREAS, Dr. Maria Ferrier has rendered outstanding service 4 to A&M--San Antonio, and her vision and acumen are certain to be of 5 tremendous value as the institution continues to build on its 6 record of excellence; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
Legislature hereby commend Dr. Maria Hernandez Ferrier on her
contributions to Texas A&M University--San Antonio and extend to
her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 12 prepared for Dr. Ferrier as an expression of high regard by the 13 Texas House of Representatives.

Farias

H.R. No. 1372

3

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1372 was adopted by the House on April 24, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House