RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On September 1, 2013, McDonald Observatory in Jeff 2 Davis County is initiating a yearlong celebration of the 75th 3 anniversary of the dedication of its first telescope and the 50th 4 anniversary of its affiliation with The University of Texas at 5 Austin; and

6 WHEREAS, One of the great centers for astronomical research 7 and education in the world, McDonald Observatory was founded as the 8 result of a bequest by Texas banker William Johnson McDonald and 9 situated far from city lights on Mount Locke in the Davis Mountains, 10 under the clear, dark skies of West Texas; and

11 WHEREAS, The observatory's first instrument, a 2.1-meter 12 reflecting telescope, was dedicated on May 5, 1939; it was the second-largest telescope in the world at the time, and it was later 13 14 named for the observatory's first director, the eminent Russian astronomer Otto Struve, who served from 1932 until 1950; originally 15 run under contract by the University of Chicago, the observatory 16 was taken over by The University of Texas in 1963; the first UT 17 director was Dr. Harlan J. Smith, who served for the next quarter of 18 19 a century; and

20 WHEREAS, Over the years, the Otto Struve Telescope has been 21 joined by the 2.7-meter Harlan J. Smith Telescope on Mount Locke 22 and the 9.2-meter Hobby-Eberly Telescope on the adjacent Mount 23 Fowlkes, as well as by a variety of smaller, more specialized 24 instruments; astronomers from around the world have used these

1

1 telescopes to make important discoveries about planetary systems,
2 stellar spectroscopy, the interstellar medium, and extragalactic
3 astronomy; and

4 WHEREAS, During the observatory's anniversary year, the 5 Hobby-Eberly Telescope Dark Energy Experiment (HETDEX) will map the three-dimensional positions of 1 million galaxies up to 11 million 6 light years away, yielding the largest map of the universe ever 7 8 produced and helping to establish the nature of dark energy, one of the greatest mysteries in science today; The University of Texas is 9 10 also a partner in the Giant Magellan Telescope project, which will create a new generation of earth-based telescopes using 7 mirrors 11 to make up an optical surface 80 feet across, with 10 times the 12 resolving power of the Hubble Space Telescope; and 13

WHEREAS, In addition to its leadership in research, McDonald Observatory is one of the Lone Star State's great resources for teachers, students, and the public; 60,000 visitors a year enjoy the observatory tour, the exhibits in the Frank N. Bash Visitors Center, and the public star-viewing parties every Tuesday, Friday, and Saturday; the observatory regularly hosts continuing education programs for teachers and activities for K-12 students; and

21 WHEREAS, McDonald Observatory also reaches a national audience StarDate radio 22 with its popular program, the 23 longest-running science feature in the country, playing daily on 24 more than 300 stations nationwide; *StarDate* magazine, originally founded as McDonald Observatory News in 1973, has been a color, 25 26 bimonthly magazine since 1988, and the StarDate website offers sky-watching tips and news about the observatory to people around 27

2

1 the world; and

2 WHEREAS, For three quarters of a century, McDonald 3 Observatory has actively participated in some of the most 4 staggering scientific discoveries of modern times and enriched the 5 lives of countless visitors with its innovative education programs, 6 and its continuing efforts to push the boundaries of the human 7 understanding of the cosmos are truly worthy of recognition on this 8 special anniversary; now, therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 10 Legislature hereby commemorate the 75th anniversary of the 11 dedication of the first telescope at McDonald Observatory and 12 extend to the observatory's scientists, technicians, and staff 13 sincere best wishes for continued success with their exciting work; 14 and, be it further

15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 16 prepared for McDonald Observatory as an expression of high regard 17 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Nevarez

3

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1392 was adopted by the House on April 23, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House