H.R. No. 1394

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, William Dillahunty of Uvalde is stepping down as the
- 2 leader of the Sahawe Indian Dancers after half a century of
- 3 outstanding service; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Dillahunty first became involved with the group
- 5 when he joined the Comanche Club Indians in 1950, shortly after the
- 6 organization was formed by Boy Scout Troop No. 81; within two
- 7 years, a new name had been adopted and he was performing specialty
- 8 Native American routines as a member of the Sahawe Indian Dancers;
- 9 and
- WHEREAS, Returning to lead the group in 1962, Mr. Dillahunty
- 11 has inspired hundreds of boys with his knowledge and creativity;
- 12 participants visit American Indian gatherings around the country
- 13 and consult books and films to learn ancient ceremonial dances, and
- 14 they also construct their own elaborate costumes; during the past
- 15 50 years, over 2,000 performances have been given in 27 states and
- 16 more than 200 Texas cities; and
- WHEREAS, Also frequently performing in their own outdoor
- 18 theater that was opened in 1981, the dancers were selected as
- 19 Uvalde's number one tourist attraction by the Texas Travel Writers,
- 20 and they have been designated as the city's Ambassadors of Good
- 21 Will; and
- WHEREAS, William Dillahunty has made a meaningful difference
- 23 in the life of his community, and his commitment and outstanding
- 24 achievements are truly deserving of special recognition; now,

H.R. No. 1394

- 1 therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby honor William Dillahunty, leader of the Sahawe
- 4 Indian Dancers from 1962 through 2012, and extend to him sincere
- 5 best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Mr. Dillahunty as an expression of high regard from
- 8 the Texas House of Representatives.

King of Zavala

H.R. No. 1394

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1394 was adopted by the House on May 1, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House