## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Family, friends, and members of Mt. Corinth 2 Missionary Baptist Church in Hempstead are mourning the loss of 3 Pastor Lloyd Crosby, who passed away on April 3, 2013; and

WHEREAS, A graduate of Phillis Wheatley High School, Lloyd Crosby earned his bachelor's degree from Bishop College and his master's degree from Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School; and

7 WHEREAS, Pastor Crosby was called to the ministry in 1970; 8 his career included a notable tenure with Mt. Corinth Missionary 9 Baptist Church, where his faith and guidance were an inspiration to 10 many; and

WHEREAS, In addition to his work with his congregation, 11 Pastor Crosby served as a chaplain with the Hempstead Police 12 Department, directed the Seventh Street Community Development 13 14 Corporation, and hosted Teen Talk on KPVU 91.3; he further shared his time and expertise with the executive committee for the Prairie 15 View A&M University Ministers Conference and with the National 16 Baptist Congress of Christian Education, Texas State Missionary 17 Baptist Convention, and Houston Ministers Against Crime; and 18

WHEREAS, This esteemed clergyman was supported in all of his endeavors by his wife, Karyn Crosby, and he took great pride in his daughter, Lynnetia; and

22 WHEREAS, Pastor Lloyd Crosby lived a caring and purposeful 23 life, and though his death has brought great sorrow to all who knew 24 him, he leaves behind a legacy of good works that will long resonate

1

1 in the community; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 3 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Pastor Lloyd Crosby 4 and extend sincere sympathy to his friends and loved ones; and, be 5 it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 8 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Pastor 9 Lloyd Crosby.

> Dutton Miles Thompson of Harris McClendon Turner of Harris

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1395 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 9, 2013.

Chief Clerk of the House