RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of McMullen County are gathering in
 Austin to celebrate McMullen County Day at the State Capitol on
 April 15, 2013; and

WHEREAS, Located in the center of South Texas, McMullen County is made up of more than 1,000 square miles of flat and rolling brushland; artifacts discovered in the county indicate that human settlement dates back perhaps as far as 11,000 years, with groups of hunter-gatherers in the area until the 1700s; and

9 WHEREAS, Several Spanish expeditions passed through the area 10 in the 17th and 18th centuries, but the population was sparse until 11 shortly before the Civil War, when settlers began to move in to take 12 advantage of the grasslands where wild mustangs and cattle could be 13 found; and

WHEREAS, The county was established in 1858, and a group of resourceful adventurers settled where the Leoncita Creek flowed into the Rio Frio; the town was first called Rio Frio, then Dog Town, and finally Tilden, after Samuel J. (Whispering Sammy) Tilden, the unsuccessful Democratic candidate for president in 1876; the town eventually became the county seat; and

20 WHEREAS, Cattle and sheep ranching dominate the county's 21 economy, though oil and gas have grown in importance since the 22 1930s, and the region is also a destination for hunters; and

23 WHEREAS, McMullen County residents are stewards of an area of 24 fascinating history and culture, and their unique county merits

1

1 special recognition; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 3 Legislature hereby recognize April 15, 2013, as McMullen County Day 4 at the State Capitol and extend best wishes to the visiting 5 delegation for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin; and, be 6 it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the county as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Guillen

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1412 was adopted by the House on April 15, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House