H.R. No. 1413

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Residents of Live Oak County are gathering in Austin
- 2 on April 15, 2013, to share their justifiable pride in their unique
- 3 part of the Lone Star State; and
- WHEREAS, In the years before the land became part of Texas,
- 5 the area now known as Live Oak County was home to Native American
- 6 tribes, Spanish and Mexican colonists, and Irish immigrants, and
- 7 this rich cultural diversity has greatly influenced the development
- 8 of the area; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The county was created on February 2, 1856, from San
- 10 Patricio and Nueces Counties and was named after the imposing and
- 11 majestic live oaks that grew throughout much of the region; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The rugged beauty of Live Oak County's brushy plains
- 13 is complemented by the Frio, Nueces, and Atascosa Rivers, and
- 14 admirers of the Texas landscape are drawn to such attractions as
- 15 Lake Corpus Christi and Choke Canyon State Park; and
- WHEREAS, Area revenue originally came from sheep, cattle, and
- 17 cotton, but later was diversified by the discovery of oil and
- 18 natural gas in the county in the 1930s and by the discovery of
- 19 uranium in the 1960s; and
- WHEREAS, In addition to George West, the county seat, the
- 21 communities located in Live Oak County include Three Rivers,
- 22 Dinero, Lagarto, Oakville, Pernitas Point, and Whitsett, and
- 23 residents of these towns join in honoring their distinctive part of
- 24 Texas; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1413

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize April 15, 2013, as Live Oak County Day
- 3 at the State Capitol and extend best wishes to the visiting
- 4 delegation for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin; and, be
- 5 it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the county as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Guillen

H.R. No. 1413

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira				
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr				
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto				
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie				
Anchia	Guillen	Parker				
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick				
Ashby	Harless	Perez				
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry				
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips				
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett				
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts				
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price				
Branch	Huberty					
Burkett	-	Raney				
	Hughes Hunter	Ratliff				
Burnam		Raymond				
Button	Isaac Johnson	Reynolds Riddle				
Callegari						
Canales	Kacal	Ritter				
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar				
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis				
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose				
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford				
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer				
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets				
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell				
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell				
Creighton	Krause	Simmons				
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson				
Dale	Larson	Smith				
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee				
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer				
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson				
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland				
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama				
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor				
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria				
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris				
Elkins	Martinez	Toth				
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin				
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris				
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant				
Farrar	Miles	Villalba				
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal				
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo				
Frank	Moody	Walle				
Frullo	Morrison	White				
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman				
Giddings	Murphy	Wu				
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler				
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas				
	/ 3.4 4 4					

								H.R.	No.	1413
										· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
					Spe	aker	of	the H	ouse	
	I certify			was	adopted	by t	he	House	on	April
15, 201	3, by a no	n-reco	rd vote.							
					Chief	Cle	rk c	of the	Hou	se