RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Hutto are gathering in Austin on 2 April 23, 2013, to celebrate Hutto Day at the State Capitol; and 3 WHEREAS, Situated on the rich blackland soils of southeastern Williamson County, the Hutto area was settled in 1855 by James E. 4 Hutto and Adam Orgain, a freed slave; the town was founded in 1876 5 around a depot of the International-Great Northern Railroad, and it 6 7 soon became a center for cotton farming; the town was incorporated in 1911; and 8

9 WHEREAS, A century later, Hutto benefits from its location at the intersection of two busy major highways, US 79 and SH-130, and 10 its proximity to the NAFTA corridor along I-35; the city's 11 12 population has soared from 1,250 in 2000 to more than 18,000 today, its welcoming environment for business has earned 13 and it 14 recognition from Southern Business and Development magazine as one of the Top 10 Edge Markets and one of the Top 100 "Best Places in the 15 16 South to Locate Your Company"; and

WHEREAS, The Hutto Independent School District is one of the 17 fastest growing districts in Texas, increasing enrollment at the 18 rate of 20 percent a year, and in 2008, voters approved a \$128.5 19 20 million bond package; the city is also increasing opportunities for 21 adult students, and the fall of 2013 will see the opening of a new, 57-acre campus of the East Williamson County Higher Education 22 23 Center; in addition, Hutto residents have approved funding for the creation of a park system and a 25,000-square-foot YMCA facility; 24

1

1 and

2 WHEREAS, Home to an educated workforce, a motivated city 3 government, and a healthy business climate, Hutto is building on 4 its rich, small-town heritage of hard work and neighborliness to 5 prepare itself for a dynamic future as a smart place to live, work, 6 and prosper; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
Legislature hereby recognize April 23, 2013, as Hutto Day at the
State Capitol and extend to the Hutto delegation sincere best
wishes for an enjoyable and memorable visit to Austin.

Gonzales

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1441 was adopted by the House on April 23, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House