By: Marquez

H.R. No. 1460

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Bob Moore, editor of the *El Paso Times*, has been 2 named the winner of the 2012 Burl Osborne Award for Editorial 3 Leadership from the American Society of News Editors; and

WHEREAS, Named for the former editor and publisher of the Dallas Morning News, the Burl Osborne Award recognizes exceptional editorial writing that makes a difference in the community; it is part of the ASNE Awards program that honors distinguished newspaper writing and photography throughout the country; and

9 WHEREAS, Mr. Moore was honored for his editorials urging 10 reform in the El Paso Independent School District; the judges noted 11 his strong voice and the "remarkable fortitude" he demonstrated in 12 producing a series of editorials on the topic; the award, which 13 includes a \$2,500 prize, will be officially presented to Mr. Moore 14 at the organization's convention in Washington, D.C., in June 2013; 15 and

16 WHEREAS, A graduate of The University of Texas at El Paso, Mr. 17 Moore worked for the *El Paso Times* in a variety of roles from 1986 18 through 2005; after serving as editor of the *Fort Collins* 19 *Coloradoan* for six years, he returned to the *Times* in October 2011 20 as the paper's editor; and

21 WHEREAS, Bob Moore's commitment to journalistic excellence 22 has contributed greatly to the success of the *El Paso Times* and the 23 impact the paper has on the community, earning him the respect of 24 its readers and his peers in the Lone Star State and beyond; now,

1

H.R. No. 1460

1 therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Bob Moore on winning the 2012 Burl 4 Osborne Award for Editorial Leadership from the American Society of 5 News Editors and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued 6 success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. Moore as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.