H.R. No. 1474

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Representatives of the Texas State Technical
- 2 College System are gathering in Austin to celebrate Texas State
- 3 Technical College System Day at the State Capitol on April 17, 2013;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, In 1965, the Texas Legislature established the James
- 6 Connally Technical Institute in Waco on the site of James Connally
- 7 Air Force Base, which was about to close; another decommissioned
- 8 base in Harlingen was approved as a second campus two years later,
- 9 and in 1969, the colleges became an independent state system, Texas
- 10 State Technical Institute; and
- 11 WHEREAS, New campuses were subsequently founded on former air
- 12 force bases in Amarillo and Sweetwater, and as the demand for
- 13 technical education grew, extension centers were created in
- 14 McAllen, Abilene, Breckenridge, Brownwood, and Marshall; the
- 15 legislature elevated the schools to the status of two-year
- 16 institutions in 1991 under the name Texas State Technical College;
- 17 eventually, the Marshall extension center won official designation
- 18 as a stand-alone campus, Texas State Technical College Marshall;
- 19 and
- WHEREAS, In 2011, the legislature redefined the Texas State
- 21 Technical College West Texas campus as serving four strategically
- 22 positioned, permanent locations at Sweetwater, Abilene,
- 23 Breckenridge, and Brownwood; TSTC West Texas now combines with the
- 24 System Operations Office and colleges in Harlingen, Marshall, and

H.R. No. 1474

- 1 Waco to form the TSTC System; and
- WHEREAS, The system strives for excellence in instruction,
- 3 public service, faculty and manpower research, and economic
- 4 development; it collaborates closely with business, industry,
- 5 governmental agencies, and communities, and it partners with other
- 6 educational institutions across Texas to broaden access to
- 7 high-quality training in a variety of fields; through such
- 8 partnerships, it has developed TSTC locations in Fort Bend, Hondo,
- 9 Hutto-Taylor, Ingleside, Pearland, and Zapata; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Since its inception, Texas State Technical College
- 11 System has helped innumerable Texans reach their career goals, and
- 12 it has played a key role in building a skilled workforce that
- 13 contributes immeasurably to the prosperity of the Lone Star State;
- 14 now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby recognize April 17, 2013, as TSTC System Day at
- 17 the State Capitol and extend to all those in attendance sincere best
- 18 wishes for a memorable and enjoyable event.

Anderson
Paddie
Longoria
King of Taylor
Keffer
Gonzales
Lozano

H.R. No. 1474

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	_	Strama
_	Longoria	
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1474
<u>-</u>	
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1474 was	adopted by the House on April
12, 2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House