## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Kevin Brent Washington III distinguished himself in
- 2 the boxing ring by winning the lightweight championship at the
- 3 Dallas Golden Gloves Tournament, held at the Hella Shrine Temple in
- 4 Garland in January 2013; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Fighting as an intermediate novice in the 132-pound
- 6 division, Kevin claimed the title with an exceptional performance
- 7 that included two victories by knockout; the 14-year-old boxer
- 8 trains at Devildogz Boxing Club of Cedar Hill, where he is coached
- 9 by Samuel Clarkson; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In addition to his skills as a fighter, this young
- 11 competitor enjoys football, baseball, and other sports and draws
- 12 inspiration from his athletic heroes, who include Muhammad Ali,
- 13 Mike Tyson, Allen Iverson, and Carmelo Anthony; he is also devoted
- 14 to his academic studies and maintains a 3.0 grade point average at
- 15 Permenter Middle School; and
- WHEREAS, Through his involvement in boxing, Kevin has learned
- 17 valuable lessons about commitment and hard work that are sure to
- 18 serve him well in the years ahead, and he may indeed reflect with
- 19 pride on becoming a Golden Gloves champion; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby commend Kevin Brent Washington III for winning
- 22 the intermediate novice 132-pound title at the 2013 Dallas Golden
- 23 Gloves Tournament and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 24 continued success; and, be it further

H.R. No. 1475

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Kevin as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 3 House of Representatives.

Giddings

## H.R. No. 1475

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	_	Strama
_	Longoria	
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

			H.R.	No.	1475
_					
	Spe	aker of	the H	ouse	•
I certify that H.R. No. 1475 was	adopted	by the	House	on	April
13, by a non-record vote.					
_					

Chief Clerk of the House

18, 2013, by a non-record vote.