H.R. No. 1532

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize April 17, 2013, as Transit Day at the State Capitol; and 3 WHEREAS, Texans are served by numerous transit agencies, including the Corpus Christi Regional Transportation Authority 4 5 (CCRTA), Capital Metro in Austin, the Fort Worth Transportation Authority (The T), Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART), the VIA 6 Metropolitan Transit in San Antonio, the Metropolitan Transit 7 Authority of Harris County (Houston Metro), Sun Metro of El Paso, 8 9 and Denton County Transportation Authority, as well as additional members of the Texas Transit Association that provide public 10 11 transportation services to the citizens of their respective 12 communities; and

13 WHEREAS, The Texas transit authorities combined provide more 14 than 285 million passenger trips per year through needed transportation services for individuals to go to and from work, 15 16 school, medical visits, shopping trips, and other destinations; and WHEREAS, The Texas transit agencies operate a unique mix of 17 transportation systems, including traditional fixed-route bus 18 service, park-and-ride service, rail service, paratransit service, 19 downtown trolleys, harbor ferries, van pools, and various special 20 21 event services; and

22 WHEREAS, The Texas transit agencies have been proactive in 23 providing transportation services for individuals with 24 disabilities through their paratransit service, accessible

1

H.R. No. 1532 1 fixed-route service, and a broad range of mobility improvements on 2 the streets and sidewalks of their service areas; now, therefore, 3 be it

4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 5 Legislature hereby recognize April 17, 2013, as Transit Day at the 6 State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegations sincere best 7 wishes for an enjoyable and memorable visit to Austin.

Hunter

H.R. No. 1532

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1532

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1532 was adopted by the House on April 17, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House