H.R. No. 1533

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud representatives of the La Joya Independent
School District are visiting the State Capitol on April 22, 2013;
and

WHEREAS, A Texas Education Agency "recognized" district, La Joya ISD has experienced rapid growth over the course of the past decade; the district includes 23 elementary schools, 8 middle schools, and 6 high schools; and

WHEREAS, Honored with a perfect rating from the No Child Left 8 9 Behind program, La Joya ISD is committed to improving college readiness and encouraging more students to pursue higher education; 10 11 in recent years, the district has established two institutions that 12 allow teens to complete associate's degrees; Jimmy Carter Early College High School emphasizes social sciences, while Thelma Rosa 13 14 Salinas STEM Early College High School focuses on science, technology, engineering, and mathematics; to date, more than 1,000 15 16 students have taken advantage of dual enrollment opportunities; in addition, the district has partnered with South Texas College to 17 create the STC La Joya Teaching Center, to make STC classes more 18 accessible to the community; and 19

20 WHEREAS, The district offers a well-rounded curriculum, and 21 its students have distinguished themselves in a variety of 22 disciplines; La Joya ISD can claim one of the few four-year 23 All-State band champions, as well as a first-place winner at the 24 ExxonMobil Texas Science and Engineering Fair; moreover, the

1

Palmview High School mariachi and folklorico groups were invited to
appear in the 2013 inaugural parade in Washington, D.C.; and

WHEREAS, Under the leadership of superintendent Dr. Alda 3 Benavides, the district has promoted staff development 4 and employees 5 emergency readiness; more than 700 have earned preparedness certification through the National 6 Incident Management System of the Federal Emergency Management Agency, and 7 8 the district has been awarded funds to create a disaster relief dome; and 9

10 WHEREAS, The La Joya Independent School District has 11 demonstrated a commitment to excellence that is truly impressive, 12 and the quality education that it provides its students is of 13 benefit not only to them and to the local community but also to the 14 entire Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby commend the La Joya Independent School District for its accomplishments and extend to its faculty, staff, and students sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for the district as an expression of high regard by the 22 Texas House of Representatives.

> Longoria Guerra

H.R. No. 1533

2

H.R. No. 1533

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1533

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1533 was adopted by the House on April 22, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House