By: King of Taylor

H.R. No. 1534

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Stamford High School football team won the 2 University Interscholastic League 1A Division 1 state championship 3 with a 35-28 victory over Mart High School on December 20, 2012, at 4 Cowboys Stadium in Arlington; and

5 WHEREAS, After claiming the District 4 title, the Bulldogs 6 began their march through the postseason; they handily defeated 7 four consecutive opponents by double-digit margins, including a 8 decisive 41-8 win over Italy High School in the semifinals to claim 9 their place in the title contest; and

WHEREAS, Facing off against Mart High School with the state crown on the line, Stamford fell behind 21-7 midway through the second quarter before beginning a dramatic comeback; the team went on to score 28 points while holding Mart to a single touchdown, and the dramatic final score by the Bulldogs with just 32 seconds on the clock gave the school its first football championship since 1958; and

WHEREAS, In a remarkable performance, Hagen Hutchinson earned the Offensive and Defensive Most Valuable Player honors; he threw for 248 yards and two touchdowns, and he picked up another 132 yards and two more scores on the ground, one of which was the game-winning TD; his defensive play was equally pivotal, as he recorded 16 tackles as well as an interception deep in Bulldog territory as time expired to seal the victory; and

24 WHEREAS, Stamford's success during a stellar 14-1 season also

1

H.R. No. 1534

1 depended on the significant contributions made by the other members of the roster: Gus Mirelez, Jacob Moreno, Austin Alvarado, Dalton 2 3 Mathis, Cristan Pachicano, Bo Wimberly, Noe Contreras, Gus West, Tre Reynolds, Zac Schmidt, Bruce Sarmiento, Joey Aguilar, Eric 4 5 Sanchez, Isaiah Llewellyn, Mario Gonzales, Kyler Kuenstler, Ty McLemore, James Washington, Bryan Ramirez, Rudy Sanchez, Stephen 6 Pardo, Brady Pair, Daniel Medina, Nathan Fernandez, Keontay Smith, 7 8 Jesse Sanchez, Tyler Neatherlin, Brandon Robertson, Nick Stanley, Chris Burkhart, Demarcus Titus, Andrew Rodriguez, Matt Burkhart, 9 10 Tanner Vance, Tyler Kelly, Brendon Gomez, Justin Akins, and Roy Alaniz; and 11

12 WHEREAS, These determined young athletes were ably guided by head coach and athletic director Wayne Hutchinson and assistant 13 14 coaches Mitch McLemore, Jeremy West, Lannie Templeton, Ronnie 15 Casey, Shawn Speck, and Joe Walts; the team also benefited from the valuable support of superintendent Dr. Shaun Barnett, principal Jim 16 17 Raughton, statistician Kyle Barnett, trainers Michael Garcia, Bill Pearce, and Staci Abbate, managers Johnathan Ellis, Eduardo 18 19 Vasquez, Jacob Hernandez, Josh Mueller, Peyton Bevel, and Toby 20 White, and filmers Rick Musemeche, John Wendeborn, and Sammy Nauert; and 21

22 WHEREAS, Inspired by their many ardent supporters and focused 23 on the goal of being the best 1A Division 1 team in Texas, the 24 Stamford High Bulldogs completed a superlative season in 2012, and 25 the memory of their achievements will be a lasting source of pride 26 in the local community for years to come; now, therefore, be it 27 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

2

H.R. No. 1534

Legislature hereby congratulate the Stamford High School football team on winning the UIL 1A Division 1 state championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.