## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Commission on the Arts has announced
- 2 the 2013 appointments for the positions of State Poet Laureate,
- 3 State Musician, State Two-Dimensional Artist, and State
- 4 Three-Dimensional Artist; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The state's highest accolade for excellence in the
- 6 arts, designation as a Texas State Artist is conferred on those
- 7 individuals who represent the best of our rich and diverse artistic
- 8 community and who inspire others through their unique creative
- 9 expression; and
- 10 WHEREAS, San Antonio native Rosemary Catacalos is the 2013
- 11 Texas State Poet Laureate; in 1985, she received the Texas
- 12 Institute of Letters poetry prize for her first full-length
- 13 collection of poems, Again for the First Time, which is scheduled
- 14 for reissue on its 30th anniversary; her work has been widely
- 15 published in high school and college textbooks, and it has twice
- 16 appeared in the annual Best American Poetry anthology; from 2003 to
- 17 2012, she served as executive-artistic director of Gemini Ink, a
- 18 community-focused literary center in San Antonio; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The 2013 Texas State Musician is Austin-based Craig
- 20 Hella Johnson, one of the most influential choral conductors of
- 21 today; as founder and artistic director of Conspirare, he has
- 22 formed an award-winning ensemble whose mission is to create
- 23 transformative concert experiences; he is also artistic director of
- 24 the critically acclaimed Victoria Bach Festival, which draws

- 1 musicians from across the country, and in 2012, he became the first
- 2 artist-in-residence at the Texas State University School of Music;
- 3 and
- WHEREAS, Jim Woodson has been selected as the 2013 Texas
- 5 State Two-Dimensional Artist; born in Waco, he has produced an
- 6 impressive body of work over a career spanning more than five
- 7 decades and is widely known for his high desert landscapes; his
- 8 paintings have been featured in such prestigious exhibitions as the
- 9 Florence Biennale and are held in many private and public
- 10 collections, including those of the Amarillo Art Center, Belo
- 11 Corporation, the El Paso Museum of Art, and the Modern Art Museum of
- 12 Fort Worth; and
- WHEREAS, Named 2013 Texas State Three-Dimensional Artist,
- 14 Joseph Havel joined the staff of the Glassell School of Art at the
- 15 Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, in 1991 and became director of the
- 16 institution five years later; one of his best-known sculptures,
- 17 Curtain, was commissioned by the MFAH to frame the doorway to the
- 18 Audrey Jones Beck Building; the Dallas Museum of Art and the
- 19 Contemporary Museum, Honolulu, have also added his works to their
- 20 collections, and his pieces have been exhibited extensively in
- 21 Europe and in the United States; and
- 22 WHEREAS, The artists who have been selected to hold these
- 23 prestigious posts have all greatly contributed to the vibrant
- 24 cultural life of the Lone Star State, and Texas is indeed fortunate
- 25 to be home to these talented individuals; now, therefore, be it
- 26 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 27 Legislature hereby congratulate the 2013 Texas Commission on the

- 1 Arts honorees and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued
- 2 fulfillment in their creative endeavors.

Guillen

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira				
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr				
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto				
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie				
Anchia	Guillen	Parker				
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick				
Ashby	Harless	Perez				
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry				
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips				
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett				
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts				
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price				
Branch	Huberty					
Burkett	-	Raney Ratliff				
	Hughes Hunter					
Burnam		Raymond				
Button	Isaac Johnson	Reynolds				
Callegari		Riddle				
Canales	Kacal	Ritter				
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar				
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis				
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose				
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford				
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer				
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets				
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell				
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell				
Creighton	Krause	Simmons				
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson				
Dale	Larson	Smith				
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee				
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer				
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson				
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland				
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama				
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor				
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria				
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris				
Elkins	Martinez	Toth				
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin				
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris				
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant				
Farrar	Miles	Villalba				
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal				
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo				
Frank	Moody	Walle				
Frullo	Morrison	White				
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman				
Giddings	Murphy	Wu				
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler				
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas				
	/					

									H.R.	No.	1537
						Speaker of the House					
	I certify	that	H.R. No.	1537	was	adopted	by ·	the	House	on	April
24,	2013, by a no	n-rec	ord vote.								
						Chief	E Cle	erk	of the	e Hou	ıse