RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Galveston County 4-H Senior Horse Quiz Bowl team 2 won the 2012 Western National 4-H Roundup Horse Bowl Championship, 3 which took place in Denver, Colorado, in January 2013; and WHEREAS, Demonstrating their expertise in a variety of 4 5 horse-related subjects, the team members were undefeated at the District 9 4-H Roundup, and then placed first at the Texas 4-H 6 7 Roundup in June 2012; in Denver, members squared off against seven 8 of the best teams in the country to claim the number one spot; and 9 WHEREAS, This outstanding group of young people concluded their impressive season by earning the top prize at the San Antonio 10 11 Livestock Exposition, where they each received 12 scholarship; and 13 WHEREAS, The Galveston County 4-H Senior Horse Quiz Bowl team 14 consists of Samuel Clark, Courtney Holliday, and Kiley Ziegelmann, all of whom placed third at state and advanced to the Southern 15 Regionals as part of the 2010-2011 team; the team further includes 16 Gretchen Seigfried; Mr. Clark is a dual credit student at Alvin 17 Community College, pursuing an associate's degree in biology, and 18 he plans to study veterinary science at Texas A&M University; also a 19 20 dual credit student at ACC, Ms. Holliday hopes to one day become a 21 lawyer; Ms. Ziegelmann competes in barrel racing and is enrolled in numerous Advanced Placement courses in high school, 22 23 Ms. Seigfried, who recently graduated, is looking toward a career

as a large animal veterinarian; and

24

H.R. No. 1541

- 1 WHEREAS, Through many hours of practice and study, these fine
- 2 young Texans have demonstrated commendable dedication to their
- 3 subject, and they are a source of pride for their families and their
- 4 communities; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate Samuel Clark, Courtney Holliday,
- 7 Gretchen Seigfried, and Kiley Ziegelmann on their excellent
- 8 performance as members of the Galveston County 4-H Senior Horse
- 9 Quiz Bowl and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued
- 10 success; and, be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 12 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 13 House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Galveston

H.R. No. 1541

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	
Burkett	-	Raney Ratliff
	Hughes Hunter	
Burnam		Raymond
Button	Isaac Johnson	Reynolds Riddle
Callegari		
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas
	/	

	n.k. NO. 1341
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1541 was 24, 2013, by a non-record vote.	s adopted by the House on April
	Chief Clerk of the House