RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Houston Fire Department is honoring 115 2 firefighters who have gone beyond the call of duty at its 2013 Valor 3 and Service Awards ceremony on April 27; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1838 as a single station, Protection Company No. 1, the Houston Fire Department provided volunteer service for the first 57 years of its history; it became a professional organization in 1895, and today it ranks as the third largest fire department in the United States; and

WHEREAS, The dedicated first responders of HFD protect a 9 population of more than two million in an area of more than 650 10 11 square miles; in recent years, the department has evolved into a 12 highly sophisticated public safety rescue system that addresses a wide range of responsibilities, among which are hazardous materials 13 14 incidents, technical rescue, tactical medicine, swift water rescue, and social service calls; its firefighters have saved 15 16 hundreds of lives and prevented countless injuries and illnesses; and 17

WHEREAS, Acknowledging firefighters who exemplify the departmental motto of "Courage, Commitment, and Compassion," the HFD Valor Awards Committee is recognizing Doug Adams, Stephen Alders, Clayton Angleton, Jason Archibald, David Armstrong, Carlos Arriola, Kenneth Baranowski, John Barrientes, Lary Batiste, Manuel Bedoy, Albert Bennett, Maurice Bingham, Paul Box, Gregory Brisby, Brian Burgess, Timothy Burke, Cornelius Burton, Manuel Caballero,

1

Gunther Cabarcas, Salvador Carbajal, Robert Carnes, Donald Carter,
James Carter, Scott Clements, John Cody, Michael Collins, Denny
Cooley, Joshua Cruey, Patrick Curtis, Gaylon Davenport, Jose
Davilla, Maurice Davis, Michael Davis, James Donnelly, William
Dowling, Stephen Drake, Kenneth Faterkowski, and Cresencio
Fonseca; and

WHEREAS, Additional honorees include Juan Garcia, Valentin 7 8 Garcia, Michael Gibson, Jason Gillum, Leocadio Gonzales, George Gorenflo, Bruce Greenberg, William Hageman, Walter Hayes, Brian 9 10 Hendrickson, Marcus Hernandez, Ruben Hernandez, Mark Herring, Travis Hobbs, Brandon Hodges, Anthony Jackson, Breck Jackson, 11 12 Jeffrey Johnson, Cornell Jones, Jeremiah Jones, Joshua Lacour, Calvin Lawson, James Lofton, Jeffrey Lundquist, Ashley Mabe, 13 Richard Mackert, Mark Martinez, Renaud Matthew, Rashead McGuire, 14 Michelle McLeod, Craig Moreau, Latonia Moutra, Orlando Munoz, and 15 16 Timothy Neal; and

17 WHEREAS, Other individuals receiving commendations are Pete Ng, Jacob Olsen, Tod Paget, James Peirce, Wesley Pleasant, Gregory 18 19 Politte, Cody Pope, Randy Qualls, Luis Ramos, Christopher Rhule, Guillermo Rice, Joel Rincon, Gerardo Riojas, Iris Rodriguez, 20 Armondo Salazar, William Salazar, Christopher Scarbrough, Edward 21 22 Schnur, Tommy Scott, Valerie Seymour, Bryan Sky-Eagle, Derrick 23 Snowden, Kenneth Sorensen, Allison Stein, Richard Sullivan, Eugene Thomas, Christopher Tobola, Jose Trevino, Tony Trinidad, Carson 24 Tucker, Cynthia Vargas, John Walker, Mindi Ward, Gary Wood, and 25 26 Bryan Zaharis; and

27

WHEREAS, Through their unwavering commitment to excellence,

2

1 these skilled professionals have contributed immeasurably to the 2 safety and well-being of their fellow citizens, and their 3 accomplishments indeed merit special recognition; now, therefore, 4 be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 6 Legislature hereby congratulate the honorees at the Houston Fire 7 Department 2013 Valor and Service Awards ceremony and extend to 8 them sincere best wishes for continued success in their important 9 work; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the Houston Fire Department as an expression of high 12 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Wu

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1549 was adopted by the House on April 17, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House