By: Wu H.R. No. 1549

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Houston Fire Department is honoring 115

2 firefighters who have gone beyond the call of duty at its 2013 Valor

3 and Service Awards ceremony on April 27; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1838 as a single station, Protection

5 Company No. 1, the Houston Fire Department provided volunteer

6 service for the first 57 years of its history; it became a

7 professional organization in 1895, and today it ranks as the third

8 largest fire department in the United States; and

9 WHEREAS, The dedicated first responders of HFD protect a

10 population of more than two million in an area of more than 650

11 square miles; in recent years, the department has evolved into a

12 highly sophisticated public safety rescue system that addresses a

13 wide range of responsibilities, among which are hazardous materials

14 incidents, technical rescue, tactical medicine, swift water

15 rescue, and social service calls; its firefighters have saved

16 hundreds of lives and prevented countless injuries and illnesses;

17 and

18 WHEREAS, Acknowledging firefighters who exemplify the

19 departmental motto of "Courage, Commitment, and Compassion," the

20 HFD Valor Awards Committee is recognizing Doug Adams, Stephen

21 Alders, Clayton Angleton, Jason Archibald, David Armstrong, Carlos

22 Arriola, Kenneth Baranowski, John Barrientes, Lary Batiste, Manuel

23 Bedoy, Albert Bennett, Maurice Bingham, Paul Box, Gregory Brisby,

24 Brian Burgess, Timothy Burke, Cornelius Burton, Manuel Caballero,

- H.R. No. 1549
- 1 Gunther Cabarcas, Salvador Carbajal, Robert Carnes, Donald Carter,
- 2 James Carter, Scott Clements, John Cody, Michael Collins, Denny
- 3 Cooley, Joshua Cruey, Patrick Curtis, Gaylon Davenport, Jose
- 4 Davilla, Maurice Davis, Michael Davis, James Donnelly, William
- 5 Dowling, Stephen Drake, Kenneth Faterkowski, and Cresencio
- 6 Fonseca; and
- WHEREAS, Additional honorees include Juan Garcia, Valentin
- 8 Garcia, Michael Gibson, Jason Gillum, Leocadio Gonzales, George
- 9 Gorenflo, Bruce Greenberg, William Hageman, Walter Hayes, Brian
- 10 Hendrickson, Marcus Hernandez, Ruben Hernandez, Mark Herring,
- 11 Travis Hobbs, Brandon Hodges, Anthony Jackson, Breck Jackson,
- 12 Jeffrey Johnson, Cornell Jones, Jeremiah Jones, Joshua Lacour,
- 13 Calvin Lawson, James Lofton, Jeffrey Lundquist, Ashley Mabe,
- 14 Richard Mackert, Mark Martinez, Renaud Matthew, Rashead McGuire,
- 15 Michelle McLeod, Craig Moreau, Latonia Moutra, Orlando Munoz, and
- 16 Timothy Neal; and
- WHEREAS, Other individuals receiving commendations are Pete
- 18 Ng, Jacob Olsen, Tod Paget, James Peirce, Wesley Pleasant, Gregory
- 19 Politte, Cody Pope, Randy Qualls, Luis Ramos, Christopher Rhule,
- 20 Guillermo Rice, Joel Rincon, Gerardo Riojas, Iris Rodriguez,
- 21 Armondo Salazar, William Salazar, Christopher Scarbrough, Edward
- 22 Schnur, Tommy Scott, Valerie Seymour, Bryan Sky-Eagle, Derrick
- 23 Snowden, Kenneth Sorensen, Allison Stein, Richard Sullivan, Eugene
- 24 Thomas, Christopher Tobola, Jose Trevino, Tony Trinidad, Carson
- 25 Tucker, Cynthia Vargas, John Walker, Mindi Ward, Gary Wood, and
- 26 Bryan Zaharis; and
- 27 WHEREAS, Through their unwavering commitment to excellence,

H.R. No. 1549

- 1 these skilled professionals have contributed immeasurably to the
- 2 safety and well-being of their fellow citizens, and their
- 3 accomplishments indeed merit special recognition; now, therefore,
- 4 be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate the honorees at the Houston Fire
- 7 Department 2013 Valor and Service Awards ceremony and extend to
- 8 them sincere best wishes for continued success in their important
- 9 work; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for the Houston Fire Department as an expression of high
- 12 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.