By: King of Hemphill

H.R. No. 1552

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For the second year in a row, Plains High School 2 brought home the 1A championship when it took first-place honors at 3 the 2011-2012 University Interscholastic League One-Act Play State 4 Meet; and

5 WHEREAS, The UIL One-Act Play contest is the largest high school theater competition in the world; every year, more than 6 7 14,000 high school students in over 1,000 plays participate in some 300 contests across the Lone Star State, and taking top honors at 8 9 the event requires considerable talent, dedication, and drive; and 10 WHEREAS, Among the exceptional Plains High School participants, Dray DeBusk took home the award for Best Actor, 11 12 Merrit Crump and Taylor Fitzgerald were selected as members of the All-Star Cast, Christian Romero was named to the Honorable Mention 13 14 All-Star Cast, and Zackery Wilkins received the Outstanding Technician award; and 15

16 WHEREAS, Under the direction of Lou Lindsey, John Harris, and 17 Kelly Bowers, the company also benefited greatly from the work of 18 Colby Bearden, Jaston Brink, Salvador Corrales, Riley Earnest, 19 Justin Esch, Autumn Friesen, Jacob Garcia, Cole Gatzki, Taya 20 Hamilton, Alyx Henderson, Taylor Michaleson, Jacob Neufeld, 21 Matthew Ramos, Jasmine Rivera, and Celina Schneider; and

WHEREAS, Winning a state championship is the culmination of countless hours of hard work and commitment, and these talented Texans may take justifiable pride in their achievement; now,

1

H.R. No. 1552

1 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Plains High School on winning the A La championship at the 2011-2012 UIL One-Act Play State Meet and extend to all those involved with the production sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.