By: King of Hemphill

H.R. No. 1553

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The members of the boys' 4 x 400-meter relay team

from Watson Junior High School in Muleshoe delivered an exceptional

3 performance at the 2013 Mule Relays by winning their event in record

4 time, eclipsing a school mark that had stood for 20 years; and

5 WHEREAS, Finishing in 3 minutes, 48.99 seconds, the team of

6 Beto Diaz, Javy Perez, Tre Villa, and Timothy Perez bested the

7 previous record of three minutes and 50 seconds set two decades ago

8 by a team that included Mr. Villa's uncle; the relay victory was

9 part of an outstanding day for the Watson track and field team,

10 which scored a total of 215 points to win the meet by a wide margin;

11 and

13

14

2

12 WHEREAS, The members of the record-setting squad also

excelled in other events; Beto Diaz, Javy Perez, and Tre Villa were

part of the 4 x 100 relay team that took second place; in individual

15 events, Beto Diaz won the 100-meter dash and took second in the long

16 jump and third in the high jump, and Javy Perez captured silver

17 medals in the 300-meter hurdles and the high jump; Tre Villa earned

18 a gold medal in the high jump and a silver in the 200-meter run,

19 while Timothy Perez placed first in the 800-meter run and the pole

20 vault; and

21 WHEREAS, By claiming the gold medal and setting a school

22 record in the 4 x 400 relay, these young men have distinguished

23 themselves as competitors of admirable skill and dedication, and

24 they may take justifiable pride in a job well done; now, therefore,

H.R. No. 1553

- 1 be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate the members of the Watson Junior
- 4 High School boys' 4 x 400-meter relay team on establishing a new
- 5 school record and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued
- 6 success; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the relay team as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.