H.R. No. 1559

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The 97th annual Fiesta Oyster Bake sponsored by the
- 2 St. Mary's University Alumni Association is taking place April 19
- 3 and 20, 2013, on the campus of St. Mary's University in San Antonio;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, First held in 1916 on the banks of the San Antonio
- 6 River, the event began as an annual meeting of St. Mary's alumni;
- 7 the gathering was opened to the general public in the 1940s, and in
- 8 1974, it became an official part of Fiesta San Antonio; all along,
- 9 the oyster bake has served to raise funds for St. Mary's, and today
- 10 it provides money for scholarships, as well as for alumni and
- 11 university programming; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Oysters are featured prominently at the event, with
- 13 100,000 of them available baked, fried, or raw, but there is also an
- 14 assortment of other foods, including some 15,000 chocolate-covered
- 15 strawberries; and
- WHEREAS, In addition, the festival offers the opportunity to
- 17 hear a varied lineup of music on five different stages; among the
- 18 performers are Kevin Fowler, Mario Flores and The Soda Creek Band,
- 19 Texas Tide, Outer Circles, Candlebox, Patsy Torres, and Chris
- 20 Wallace; 7,000 volunteers are involved in helping to coordinate
- 21 each aspect of the elaborate festivities; and
- WHEREAS, Recognized as the "Best Event to Benefit a Charity"
- 23 by the Texas and International Festivals and Events Associations,
- 24 the Fiesta Oyster Bake has become a much-anticipated weekend

H.R. No. 1559

- 1 activity for area residents, made all the more meaningful for the
- 2 fact that the proceeds go to support such a worthy cause; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby commemorate the 97th annual Fiesta Oyster Bake
- 6 and extend sincere best wishes to the event's participants and
- 7 organizers for an enjoyable and rewarding experience.

Rodriguez of Bexar

## H.R. No. 1559

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	_	Strama
_	Longoria	
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 1559
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1559	9 was adopted by the House on April
16, 2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House