## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Selection to one of the All-State groups sponsored 2 by the Texas Music Educators Association is the highest honor a high school music student can receive in the Lone Star State, and Jose B. 3 Montalvo of Mission has earned this distinction for 4 5 consecutive years; and 6 WHEREAS, A gifted tuba player, Mr. Montalvo was a member of 7 the All-State 5A Concert Band in 2010, the 5A Symphonic Band in 2011, and the Philharmonic Orchestra in 2012, before once again 8 qualifying for the Symphonic Band in 2013; he has also participated 9 in his school wind ensemble and the varsity marching band and is a 10

member of the Valley Youth Symphony Orchestra; in addition, his

outstanding skills have been recognized with multiple State Solo

and Ensemble gold medals; and 13

11

12

14 WHEREAS, Mr. Montalvo has showcased his talent in a number of high-profile events, including a masterclass performance at The 15 University of Texas-Pan American and a concert with the Texas State 16 University Faculty Brass Quintet, and he has performed in parades 17 hosted by the cities of Mission, La Joya, Hidalgo, and Palmview; and 18 WHEREAS, Now his senior year, Mr. 19 in Montalvo has 20 distinguished himself in academics as well; he has completed 21 numerous advanced placement courses and will graduate in the top 10 percent of his class in May; moreover, through his participation in 22 23 the dual enrollment program, he has already earned 17 hours of 24 college credit at South Texas College, where he maintains a 3.8

H.R. No. 1570

- 1 grade point average; and
- WHEREAS, Jose Montalvo has demonstrated exceptional ability
- 3 and discipline, and his dedication to achieving his goals has
- 4 opened the way to a bright and rewarding future; now, therefore, be
- 5 it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby congratulate Jose B. Montalvo on being named a
- 8 Texas Music Educators Association All-State musician for four
- 9 consecutive years and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 10 continued success; and, be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 12 prepared for Mr. Montalvo as an expression of high regard by the
- 13 Texas House of Representatives.

Munoz, Jr. Longoria Martinez Guerra

## H.R. No. 1570

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira				
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr				
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto				
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie				
Anchia	Guillen	Parker				
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick				
Ashby	Harless	Perez				
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry				
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips				
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett				
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts				
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price				
Branch	Huberty	Raney				
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff				
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond				
Button	Isaac	Reynolds				
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle				
Canales	Kacal	Ritter				
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar				
Carter						
	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis				
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose				
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford				
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer				
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets				
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell				
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell				
Creighton	Krause	Simmons				
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson				
Dale	Larson	Smith				
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee				
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer				
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson				
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland				
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama				
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor				
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria				
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris				
Elkins	Martinez	Toth				
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin				
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris				
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant				
_	Miles	Villalba				
Farrar	Miller of Comal					
Fletcher		Villarreal				
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo				
Frank	Moody	Walle				
Frullo	Morrison	White				
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman				
Giddings	Murphy	Wu				
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler				
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas				

									п.к.	NO.	1570
						Speaker of the House					
	I certify	that H	H.R. No.	1570	was	adopted	by t	the	House	on	April
22,	2013, by a no	n-recc	ord vote.								
						Chief	Cle	rk	of the	Нос	ıse