H.R. No. 1577

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Rachel Thibodeau, a senior at Southwestern
- 2 University in Georgetown, received a 2012-2013 fall sports
- 3 postgraduate scholarship from the National College Athletic
- 4 Association; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Established in 1964, the scholarships are given to
- 6 those student-athletes who have excelled in academics and athletics
- 7 and who plan to attend graduate school; Ms. Thibodeau was chosen
- 8 from applicants of the 1,094 NCAA member schools and was one of only
- 9 12 Division III women to receive the award; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Ms. Thibodeau played on her school's varsity
- 11 volleyball team for four years, while achieving an outstanding
- 12 grade point average of 4.0; along the way, she has further
- 13 distinguished herself through her involvement in the campus
- 14 community as a member of two honor societies and a Christian
- 15 sorority; she was previously selected for the 2012-2013 Capital One
- 16 Academic All-America Division III Volleyball first team by the
- 17 College Sports Information Directors of America; and
- WHEREAS, Following graduation, Ms. Thibodeau plans to pursue
- 19 a master's degree and a doctorate in neuroscience; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Demonstrating leadership, hard work, and an
- 21 enduring commitment to excellence, Rachel Thibodeau has set an
- 22 inspiring example for her fellow students, and she may reflect with
- 23 justifiable pride on her accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

H.R. No. 1577

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Rachel Thibodeau on her receipt of
- 2 a 2012-2013 fall sports postgraduate scholarship from the NCAA and
- 3 extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 4 further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Ms. Thibodeau as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Farney

H.R. No. 1577

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1577 was adopted by the House on May 1, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House