H.R. No. 1585

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Millions of Americans from across the country joined
- 2 together to celebrate the first Earth Day On April 22, 1970,
- 3 rallying around the idea of protecting the environment for future
- 4 generations; and
- 5 WHEREAS, More than four decades later, this special day
- 6 provides a welcome occasion for all Texans to reflect on the diverse
- 7 landscapes and vibrant beauty of our state and to renew our
- 8 commitment to preserving its water, air, land, and wildlife; from
- 9 the arid desert landscape of West Texas and the hills, rivers, and
- 10 lakes of Central Texas to the rich forests of East Texas, plains of
- 11 the Panhandle, and unique habitat of the Gulf Coast, the Lone Star
- 12 State is indeed an ecological treasure; and
- WHEREAS, To best honor the environmental legacy of past
- 14 generations of Texans and maintain this natural wealth for
- 15 posterity, it is vital for citizens of the Lone Star State to be
- 16 mindful custodians of our shared resources; and
- WHEREAS, One particularly important objective of Earth Day is
- 18 to support environmental literacy by promoting science,
- 19 technology, engineering, and math (STEM) subjects in the classroom;
- 20 such training will help to ensure that young Texans have the tools
- 21 they need to understand the challenges facing the planet and
- 22 creatively work toward solutions; and
- 23 WHEREAS, By promoting sustainable consumption, adopting
- 24 measures to conserve energy and water, and laying a foundation for a

H.R. No. 1585

- 1 successful clean energy economy, we can embrace our role as
- 2 stewards and work together for the benefit of our great state; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby commemorate Earth Day on April 22, 2013, and
- 6 encourage all Texans to defend and maintain our precious resources
- 7 for future generations to enjoy.

Button

H.R. No. 1585

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1585 was adopted by the House on May 1, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House