RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Thirty Texas A&M University students are providing 2 valuable support to the 83rd Texas Legislature while gaining 3 experience in public service as members of the Agricultural and 4 Natural Resources Policy Internship Program and the Public Policy 5 Internship Program; and

WHEREAS, For more than two decades, the Agricultural and 6 7 Natural Resources Policy Internship Program has sent student interns to Austin and Washington, D.C., where they work on a wide 8 9 array of issues; their strong background and interest in agriculture and natural resources allow them to offer specialized 10 11 knowledge to legislators; the program was founded in response to a 12 request by a member of the United States Congress for an intern who could assist his office with these matters, and it has since grown 13 14 to include numerous congressional offices as well as the United States House of Representatives Committee on Agriculture, the 15 United States Department of Agriculture, and offices on the state 16 level during legislative years; more than 700 students have 17 participated in semester-long internships; and 18

WHEREAS, The Public Policy Internship Program, established in 1999, works with various colleges and departments to create an interdisciplinary environment for comprehensive academic training, research, and policy programming; interns in the nation's capital and in Austin serve in a variety of settings that align with their academic and professional goals; more than 400 students have

1

1 participated in semester-long internships; and

2 WHEREAS, Led by director Heather Wheeler, both internship 3 programs select their highly qualified and dedicated participants 4 through a rigorous application process; in addition to academic 5 achievement, students must demonstrate their potential to take full 6 advantage of the opportunities for scholarly and professional 7 development as well as the desire to serve our state and nation; and

8 WHEREAS, The 2013 Texas A&M University policy interns serving in Austin are RosaLeah Brite, Ethan Caudillo, Tatiana Claros, Macy 9 10 Cotton, Kaysi Dean, Meredith Earwood, Daniel Evert, Jamie Feldt, Paige Fuselier, Joel Garcia, Crystal Gonzales, Christina Hayes, 11 12 Will Holleman, Taylor Horne, Elizabeth Klunder, Taylor Lee, Wilson Macha, Meenakshi Manivannan, Megan McKisson, Kaleb McLaurin, Sarah 13 14 Norman, Grace Richardson, Jesus Rodriguez, Jennifer Salazar, 15 Morgan Scott, Xanthe Shirley, Daniela Silva, Bryan Smith, JohnPaul 16 Wiechkoske, and Anna Wood; and

17 WHEREAS, Through the years, the Agricultural and Natural Resources Policy and Public Policy Internship Programs have helped 18 19 exceptional students deepen their understanding of governmental operations while developing professional skills and networks, and 20 alumni have gone on to make vital contributions and assume 21 leadership roles in a variety of arenas; the outstanding young 22 23 people who are giving of their time and talents throughout this 24 legislative session can indeed take pride in their achievements and service to the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it 25

26 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 27 Legislature hereby recognize the Texas A&M University Agricultural

2

H.R. No. 1590 1 and Natural Resources Policy Internship Program and the Public 2 Policy Internship Program and commend the current participants for 3 their diligence and commitment; and, be it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for the students as an expression of high regard from the 6 Texas House of Representatives.

> Workman Murphy Raney Creighton Stephenson Zerwas

Burkett Sheffield of Bell Bohac Lavender Thompson of Brazoria

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1590 was adopted by the House on May 1, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House