RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud citizens of San Augustine County are gathering
in Austin to celebrate San Augustine County Day at the State Capitol
on April 25, 2013; and
WHEREAS, This hilly landscape of pine forest and bayous was
visited by French and Spanish explorers in the 17th and 18th

6 centuries, and Anglo settlers began arriving in the early 1800s; 7 the town of San Augustine was established in 1834, and two years

8 later, the town was the site of Sam Houston's election as commander

9 of the Texian forces during the Texas Revolution; and

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, San Augustine County was established in 1837, one of the first to be formed in the Texas republic, and the county seat of San Augustine became an important commercial and cultural center, with new businesses, a newspaper, and three institutions of higher learning, including the first university in Texas; and

WHEREAS, Over the years, agriculture has formed the primary basis of the county's economy, with the chief products being corn, hogs, poultry, sugar cane, cotton, and lumber; since the 1960s, tourism has also become important as residents and visitors alike take advantage of the opportunities for recreation afforded by Lake Sam Rayburn and the county's two extensive national forests; and

WHEREAS, The town of San Augustine has been home to two Texas governors, J. Pinckney Henderson and O. M. Roberts, as well as two speakers of the Texas House of Representatives, two lieutenant governors, and three ambassadors to foreign countries; the city is

H.R. No. 1596

- 1 also known for its handsome historic houses in the Greek Revival and
- 2 Victorian styles, as well as for being the site of several of the
- 3 first Protestant churches organized in Texas after the Texas
- 4 Revolution; established as a station on the St. Louis Southwestern
- 5 Railway, the town of Broaddus was originally a hub of the lumber
- 6 industry and today is a tourist center, serving visitors to Lake Sam
- 7 Rayburn and Angelina National Forest; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Dedicated to preserving the best of their past, the
- 9 people of San Augustine County may indeed take great pride in the
- 10 significant role their county has played in the history and culture
- 11 of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby recognize April 25, 2013, as San Augustine
- 14 County Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting
- 15 delegation sincere best wishes for a meaningful and memorable visit
- 16 to Austin.

Ashby

H.R. No. 1596

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr.	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Toth Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 1596
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1596 was	s adopted by the House on April
25, 2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House