By: Coleman H.R. No. 1621

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Mamie Charity Club in Houston is honoring talented
- 2 students and exceptional mothers at its scholarship brunch on May
- 3 4, 2013; and
- WHEREAS, Founded by Christine Williams on June 27, 1955,
- 5 Mamie Charity Club was named in honor of Mamie Crain, the wife of
- 6 the Reverend N. C. Crain, who dedicated herself to assisting
- 7 others; the club helps those in immediate need of short-term
- 8 assistance; and
- 9 WHEREAS, This civic-minded group is also committed to the
- 10 education of young Texans; its 2013 youth scholarship honorees are
- 11 Samantha Johnson, Jessica Trotter, and Jelisa McKale Jones; and
- 12 WHEREAS, In addition, the club is recognizing as Precious
- 13 Mothers 19 local women who promote self-esteem and academic
- 14 excellence, and who further benefit the community through their
- 15 efforts in behalf of safe neighborhoods and quality care for the
- 16 elderly, homeless, and indigent, as well as through their
- 17 participation in the democratic process; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The 2013 Precious Mothers selected by the club are
- 19 Mary Pennie, Mildred Thomas, Jackie Thomas, Ozolla Hughs, Dorcine
- 20 Foster, Rhonda Wiggins, Katrina Clark, Jo Ann Junius, Michelle
- 21 Rowe, Imelda Malveaux, Maggie Henderson, Pamela Freeman, Theresa
- 22 Gilham, Levena Butler, Hattie Turner, Annie Crockett, Jerry Ann
- 23 Pruitt, Kimberly Moseray, and Dorothy Harris; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The members of Mamie Charity Club are helping to

H.R. No. 1621

- 1 make Houston an even better place in which to live and work, and it
- 2 is indeed a pleasure to join them in acknowledging these deserving
- 3 students and noteworthy women of the community; now, therefore, be
- 4 it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby commend Mamie Charity Club for its contributions
- 7 and congratulate the club's 2013 scholarship brunch honorees; and,
- 8 be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 10 for the club and its honorees as an expression of high regard by the
- 11 Texas House of Representatives.