H.R. No. 1631

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Ann Crawford McClure, chief justice of the Eighth
- 2 Court of Appeals, has been named the recipient of the 2013 BRAVO
- 3 Award by the League of Women Voters of El Paso; and
- WHEREAS, In selecting Chief Justice McClure, the league cited
- 5 her unwavering dedication to justice, her support for humanitarian
- 6 efforts, and her allegiance to the principles of charity and
- 7 goodwill that define the Honorable Order of Kentucky Colonels, of
- 8 which she is a commissioned member; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Ann McClure graduated magna cum laude from Texas
- 10 Christian University and went on to complete her law degree at the
- 11 University of Houston Law Center in 1979; she joined a prominent
- 12 family firm in Houston and in 1983 opened a solo practice in
- 13 appellate law in El Paso; gaining board certification in family law
- 14 and civil appellate law, she eventually merged practices with her
- 15 husband, David, into the partnership of McClure & McClure; she
- 16 maintained her statewide appellate practice until 1994, when she
- 17 was elected to the Eighth Court of Appeals, and in October 2011, she
- 18 became the first female chief justice in the court's 100-year
- 19 history; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Deeply committed to continuing legal education,
- 21 Chief Justice McClure lectures frequently in the areas of appellate
- 22 practice, family law, evidence, ethics, and women's issues, and she
- 23 has authored numerous articles; she was appointed to the Texas
- 24 Board of Law Examiners by the Supreme Court of Texas in 1991, and

- H.R. No. 1631
- 1 she was one of the original members of the Texas Board of
- 2 Disciplinary Appeals; she has also served on the Texas Family Law
- 3 Specialization Exam Commission and the Texas Civil Appellate Law
- 4 Advisory Commission and has chaired the State Bar of Texas
- 5 Appellate Section, the Family Law Section, and the Appellate
- 6 Division of the Judicial Section; and
- 7 WHEREAS, This distinguished jurist serves as an editorial
- 8 consultant to Matthew Bender's Texas Family Law Practice and
- 9 Procedure, and she has been a contributing editor of The Family Law
- 10 Forum, The Family Law Section Report, and other publications; in
- 11 addition, she has been the president of both the El Paso and
- 12 Trans-Pecos Bar Associations, and she has served on the Governor's
- 13 Task Force on Indigent Defense; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Over the years, Chief Justice McClure has received a
- 15 host of accolades, among them the Civil Rights Award from the El
- 16 Paso Branch of the NAACP, the Distinguished Alumnus Award from
- 17 Texas Christian University, and the Presidential Certificate of
- 18 Merit from the directors and past presidents of the State Bar of
- 19 Texas; she was named 2006 Judge of the Year by the El Paso Chapter of
- 20 the Mexican American Bar Association, 2005 Samuel Pessarra
- 21 Outstanding Jurist by the Texas Bar Foundation, and 2004 Jurist of
- 22 the Year by the Texas Chapter of the American Academy of Matrimonial
- 23 Lawyers; and
- 24 WHEREAS, In all her endeavors, Chief Justice McClure is
- 25 supported by the love and encouragement of her husband and their two
- 26 children, Kinsey and Scott; and
- 27 WHEREAS, Chief Justice McClure exemplifies the highest

H.R. No. 1631

- 1 standards of her profession, and she has contributed significantly
- 2 to jurisprudence in the Lone Star State, earning the respect and
- 3 appreciation of her colleagues and her fellow citizens alike; now,
- 4 therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate Chief Justice Ann Crawford McClure
- 7 on her receipt of the 2013 BRAVO Award from the League of Women
- 8 Voters of El Paso and extend to her sincere best wishes for
- 9 continued success in her important work; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for Chief Justice McClure as an expression of high regard
- 12 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Moody

H.R. No. 1631

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	
		Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

		H.R. NO. 1631
		Speaker of the House
	I certify that H.R. No. 1631 was	s adopted by the House on April
25,	2013, by a non-record vote.	
		Chief Clerk of the House