H.R. No. 1638

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Citizens from across the Lone Star State are 2 gathering at the Capitol on May 6, 2013, for the Peace Officers' 3 Memorial Ceremony, held in honor of those brave men and women who 4 have lost their lives in the line of duty; and

5 WHEREAS, Texans everywhere are indebted to members of the law 6 enforcement profession who, by their selfless devotion to the 7 public welfare, have enabled us to enjoy the benefits of a peaceful 8 and orderly society; and

9 WHEREAS, Too seldom recognized and sometimes taken for 10 granted by the public they so faithfully serve, these intrepid 11 individuals daily risk their lives in order to preserve domestic 12 tranquility and to protect their fellow residents; and

13 WHEREAS, Deputy Sheriff Joshua Shane Mitchell of the Reagan 14 County Sheriff's Office earned the respect and admiration of his 15 peers for his commitment to serving the greater good, and his 16 contributions will not soon be forgotten; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his tenure, which spanned 6 years, Deputy Normalized Sheriff Mitchell demonstrated the loyalty, courage, and self-sacrifice that are consistent with the highest ideals of the law enforcement profession; and

21 WHEREAS, Killed in the line of duty on August 1, 2012, at the 22 age of 26, Deputy Sheriff Mitchell will long be missed by his 23 family, his fellow peace officers, and the entire community; and 24 WHEREAS, Though his life ended far too soon, Deputy Sheriff

1

Mitchell left behind a notable legacy that will forever be honored by those who follow in this difficult but essential profession; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Deputy Sheriff Joshua
Shane Mitchell of the Reagan County Sheriff's Office and extend
deepest sympathy to his relatives, friends, and fellow officers;
and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 11 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Deputy 12 Sheriff Mitchell.

Fletcher

H.R. No. 1638

2

H.R. No. 1638

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 1638

## Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1638 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 1, 2013.

Chief Clerk of the House