H.R. No. 1639

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Citizens from across the Lone Star State are
- 2 gathering at the Capitol on May 6, 2013, for the Peace Officers'
- 3 Memorial Ceremony, held in honor of those brave men and women who
- 4 have lost their lives in the line of duty; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Texans everywhere are indebted to members of the law
- 6 enforcement profession who, by their selfless devotion to the
- 7 public welfare, have enabled us to enjoy the benefits of a peaceful
- 8 and orderly society; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Too seldom recognized and sometimes taken for
- 10 granted by the public they so faithfully serve, these intrepid
- 11 individuals daily risk their lives in order to preserve domestic
- 12 tranquility and to protect their fellow residents; and
- WHEREAS, Deputy Sheriff Sherri Katherine Jones of the Bowie
- 14 County Sheriff's Office earned the respect and admiration of her
- 15 peers for her commitment to serving the greater good, and her
- 16 contributions will not soon be forgotten; and
- WHEREAS, Throughout her tenure, which spanned 6 years, Deputy
- 18 Sheriff Jones demonstrated the loyalty, courage, and
- 19 self-sacrifice that are consistent with the highest ideals of the
- 20 law enforcement profession; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Killed in the line of duty on April 18, 2011, at the
- 22 age of 54, Deputy Sheriff Jones will long be missed by her family,
- 23 her fellow peace officers, and the entire community; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Though her life ended far too soon, Deputy Sheriff

H.R. No. 1639

- 1 Jones left behind a notable legacy that will forever be honored by
- 2 those who follow in this difficult but essential profession; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Deputy Sheriff Sherri
- 6 Katherine Jones of the Bowie County Sheriff's Office and extend
- 7 deepest sympathy to her relatives, friends, and fellow officers;
- 8 and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 11 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Deputy
- 12 Sheriff Jones.

Fletcher

## H.R. No. 1639

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 1639
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1639 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
vote of the House on May 1, 2013.	
	Chief Clerk of the House