By: Turner of Tarrant

H.R. No. 1665

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Grand Prairie Citizen Police Academy Alumni
Association held its second annual Police Awards Banquet on March
21, 2013; and

WHEREAS, Formed in 2009, the alumni association is 4 а 5 nonprofit voluntary organization composed of academy graduates who are interested in assisting and supporting the Grand Prairie Police 6 7 Department, serving as goodwill ambassadors for the department in the greater community, and increasing their civic involvement; in 8 9 addition to participating in various events to promote crime awareness and benefit the less fortunate, members host a yearly 10 banquet recognizing special achievement among police officers, 11 personnel, and volunteers; and 12

WHEREAS, Honored at this year's event for their meritorious service were Sergeant Kevin Cox, who was named the Lyndon King Officer of the Year, Sergeant Kenneth Zacharias, who received the Sergeant Greg Hunter Supervisor of the Year award, Daniel Scesney, who earned the Detective of the Year award, and Calvin Brown, who was named Rookie of the Year; in addition, the Problem Solving Unit was recognized as the Unit of the Year; and

20 WHEREAS, Awards also went to Detention Officer of the Year 21 Mau Pahula, Communications Operator of the Year Priscilla 22 Moncibaiz, Civilian Employee of the Year Jill Ermert, Volunteer of 23 the Year Stephanie Ray, and Explorer of the Year Tryston Marshall; 24 and

1

## H.R. No. 1665

1 WHEREAS, Through their professionalism and commitment to 2 public safety, these dedicated officers and volunteers have earned 3 the lasting respect of their fellow residents, and the recognition 4 that they have received is indeed richly deserved; now, therefore, 5 be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 7 Legislature hereby congratulate the honorees of the Grand Prairie 8 Citizen Police Academy Alumni Association's Police Awards Banquet 9 and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success and 10 happiness; and, be it further

11 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared 12 for the award recipients as an expression of high regard by the 13 Texas House of Representatives.